Sunday, October 25, 2015

Top 25 Best/Memorable Film Experiences I've had during 2014: #10- #5

Well, I'm almost done with this list and I'm really excited to hear people's thoughts on this particular top ten best/ memorable film experiences for 2014.  Now, I will start the list before I ramble on too much.


5. Enter the Dragon ( 1973 film from Robert Clouse)

Enter the Dragon literally blew me away when I saw it last year and it one of those films that every action movie fan should see.  For example, Bruce Lee is just one of those martial arts star that is very memorable in many ways and I wish he had  more  of a legendary career as a martial arts superstar than he already had if he didn't die very young, but thankfully his legacy still lives on.  Also, this movie is just very different than your average martial arts movie and that why this movie still stands as a memorable experience that you wouldn't forget at all.  

6. The Matrix (1999 film from Lana and Andy Wachowski)

The Matrix is a pretty interesting movie and movie experience because of the world building made it so unique when it came to how the action scenes will play out in this movie.  To me, the reason why the world building was so unique is because this isn't something that I don't see that often anyways, so it makes you think of what can happen to the main characters in this movie. Also, Keanu Reeves fits perfectly with the martial arts related flicks pretty well since he knows how to be those types of characters very well and that's probably why you get so invested on how he fights the bad villains instead of being bored on his vanilla acting skills.

7. Rashomon (1950 film from Akira Kurosawa)

This movie really made me think a lot and I love that. The reason why is because there are many multiple perspectives on what really happened during a certain situation going on that reflects on these individual lives, which is great.  Basically, there is more things I can mention about this film, but I would recommend anyone who hasn't seen this to go blind because the more you know, the less awed you will be when you see this film on the first time.  

8. Robocop (1987 film from Paul Verhoven)

Action movies like Robocop are a rare breed in many ways for action flicks these days.  First, in most action movies today, you don't get the personal bond that makes you want to root for Robocop since you know so much about his personal background before he became a robot. Second, the violence is really gory, but it makes the film stand out because it gives you a idea how corrupt the government was in this fictional setting.  Finally,  the performance of Kurtwood Smith is just remarkable and it's easily one of those villainous performances that makes me think of him whenever I think about this movie.

9. Beauty and the Beast (1946 film from Jean Cocteau)

This film is a magical film in general.  The  special effects in this movie are just breathtaking since it was so creative for a time that were GCI didn't exist at all.  Also, the hard work from the people who did the effects made this film even more timeless as a classic.  Another thing that made this film really good is that I got sucked in to fantasy magicalness of this movie as well.  Finally, this movie did a fantastic job of making me sucked in to this movie as a first time viewer, and that's why this film is in the top ten.  

10. Before Trilogy (1995- 2013 trilogy from Richard Linkletter)

The Before Trilogy is easily one of the best trilogies that I have ever seen in my life.  First of all, I had a huge emotional connection with Jesse and Celine because I wanted to succeed so much after what they went through. Second, these films are so realistic to what can possibly happen in a relationship or how a person falls in love with someone and it makes the film ten times more believable in general.  Finally, the connection between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy makes these movie stand out the most in my and that's why this film made it to the top ten of my list.

Sunday, September 6, 2015

Top 25 Best/Memorable Film Experiences I've had during 2014: #15- #11

Hi, you guys, I understand that I'm very late to this post and haven't done one since January, but I'm motivated to get this over with and now I will start the list, so I can get the top ten started.


11. Jaws (1975 film from Steven Spielberg)

Jaws is the ultimate summer blockbuster and it is for a reason. First, the fact that you don't see the shark that much is great because you can easily learn more about the background about the town and its characters before the climax really begins. Also, Bruce the  shark presence in the film was very mysterious and that's why Jaws to me stand the test of time when it comes to the ultimate blockbuster.



12. Eraserhead (1977 film from David Lynch)

When I was watching this last year, I didn't that much about it all except that it was a David Lynch film and that it was the debut of his, but let me you that if you don't know what your getting yourself into, it will quite a memorable experience for certain. Personally, it wasn't like a very entertaining movie in general, but the fact that this movie sticks in your mind is very remarkable for a debut film of David Lynch and I really don't want to see this movie again because of that particular reason.


13. Suspiria (1977 film from Dario Argento)

This movie  is easily a one of a kind experience that I wish I can experience for the first time again since it really blew my mind in many ways. First, the cinematography was so beautiful and so detailed when it came to the colors, the patterns, and the way the frame were shoot like artwork that could gone in the finest arts museums around the world. Finally, the plot really adds its creepiness once you get farther to the movie and the climax of this film is just memorable in so many ways. Also, this one of those movies that everyone should see because they don't make horror movies like they used to anymore.

14. Evil Dead II (1987 film from Sam Raimi)

For me, making me laugh in a horror movie is very hard, but with Evil Dead II, Sam Raimi does the perfect balance of comedy and horror at the same time. Also, the fact that Bruce Campbell is one of the rare gifts when it comes to comedic acting because physical humor is very hard to pull off in general. That's why Evil Dead II stand out from the normal horror movies that I have seen multiple times.

15. Aliens (1986 film from James Cameron)
This movie is awesome sequel just in general. First, I love the fact that Ripley is just a strong women who is capable of doing anything she her mind to and I find that very awesome for a female main action hero. Second, the action,science fiction elements, and the horror is very thrilling and tense, which made me very hooked to the screen.  Also, this reminds me that I need to see Alien by Ridley Scott soon since I want to explore of more the world building that this film provides and I want learn more about Ripley as well.



Saturday, August 15, 2015

Against the Crowd Blogathan 2015

Since he gives us permission to use on his banner, I'm going to take advantage of this since this my favorite one from the banners for this year.

Since I did this last year, I thought it would be great to do it again and thank you Wendell for doing this blogathan again. If anyone who wants reminders on the rules that he created again or have never done, I will post them of this blog post to help you guys out. Also, if someone want to check out my post from this blogathan from last year, I will recommend you to click here. Anyways, here are the guidelines that everyone needs to follow in order to create another successful blogathan for Wendell.



1. Pick one movie that "everyone" loves (the more iconic, the better). That movie must have a score of at least 80% on rottentomatoes.com. Tell us why you hate it. 

2. Pick one movie that "everyone" hates (the more notorious, the better). That movie must have a score of less than 30% on rottentomatoes.com. Tell us why you love it.

3. Include the tomato meter scores of both movies
 
 
I hoped that this helped anyone who needs it for blogging purposes when it comes to doing this blogathan and now I will tell you my choices for this year.
 
 
The Film that "Everyone" Loves Except Me: The Magnificent Seven (1960 film)

Rating for the film on Rotten Tomatoes is 93% percent



Seriously, I understand why people love this America remake of Seven Samurai because it got really awesome cast when it comes to people to actors who know how to make movies memorable,  but for this me not having an awesome cast wasn't enough for me at all when it comes to this movie at all.  One of the reasons why I didn't like this movie a lot is because there isn't that much going on.  For what I've seen there was only couple of plot points rom watching about fifty minutes of this film and that saddens me because I would of rather had met the particular seven in a epic journey way like what the Seven Samurai did since the audience could of had a easier time connecting to characters instead of having a lot of plot fillers to add more minutes to this film.  Personally, I tried giving this movie a second chances, but I felt like I wasted my personal time by watching this film and I rather watch Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai any day compared to this film.

 
 
The film that "Everyone" Hates Except Me: Vampire Academy (2014 film)
 
Rating for this film on Rotten Tomatoes is 11% percent

I personally don't get people hate this film because it is the perfect guilty pleasure when it comes to film where you don't want to think. First of all, the world building is so out there that I personally couldn't help myself from enjoying all of the craziness that the plot line has.  Second, the main teenage characters  and side characters normally don't say half of the stuff this movie mentions in dialogue and I love the fact that keep that  because the Vampire Academy books have a lot of sass to them just like this movie and having Mark Walters directing is great for this book adaption to movie aspect.  Finally, the fact that this movie reminds of the book series that I love so much makes me happy and it makes me want to read the book series finale Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead  just by even thinking about this film.


To those who had made it to the end of this post, I personally hoped you enjoy this particular blog post about this particular Against the Crowd blogathan and I hope everyone read the various post from this blogathan that doesn't involve mine as well. By the way, I hope everyone has a fun time writing their personal thoughts on opinions that most people wouldn't have because this is what make us a film lovers very unique in our own special ways.


 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, August 10, 2015

The Film Emotion Blogathon

inside-out

Since the deadline is approaching very soon on The Film Emotion Blog-than, I thought it would be a great idea to participate in this before it is too late. Personally, I can't wait to see what people will think about my thoughts on the movies that make feel fear, anger, joy, and disgust.  Before, I begin my list I will give you guys the rules.

1.) Pick five films to represent the five emotions in Inside Out. The criteria for choosing these films is listed below. I would be willing to allow a tie, if you couldn’t decide between two films to best represent one of the emotions.
2.) Write out five paragraphs, (one for each film) talking about the movies and why you chose them.
3.) Post them on your blog (or Tumblr or whatever).
4.) Send me the link by posting it here in the comments
 
If you additional details on what these things require, I will give to you right now on the next paragraph.
 
JOY: First of all, you want to pick a movie that makes you happy. The kind of movie that you put on whenever you’re in a bad mood that never fails to lighten your spirits. It can be a family film, a romance, a comedy – as long as there’s a smile on your face by the end credits, it should be fair game. 
SADNESS: Now for the movie that made you cry the most. From Bambi to Titanic, there are plenty of tear-jerker movies out there. These are movies where you gravitate towards the main characters and really don’t want to see anything bad happen to them. Maybe a character dies, maybe the guy doesn’t get the girl, but your eyes should be pretty watery by the film’s end. 
FEAR: This is the movie that gave you the most nightmares. Pretty self explanatory. There are plenty of classic horror movies to choose from, but it doesn’t have to be an out-and-out horror film. If the movie’s about a more subtle kind of fear, or if the movie just has a creepy atmosphere, that should work. Whether blunt or subtle, this is the movie that scares the **** out of you 
ANGER: This is a movie that you flat out hated. Not a movie that was dull or boring, but a movie that just fills you up with rage just thinking about it. Maybe it’s a movie made by a certain director that had so much potential, maybe it’s an adaptation or a sequel that just didn’t do the original justice. It could also be a movie where your anger isn’t directed at the movie, but at the characters. Ever wanted to scream at movie characters for making such incredibly stupid decisions? 
DISGUST: This last one is a bit tricky, I’ll let you interpret it the way you want. It could be a horror film with a lot of really awful imagery that you don’t want to look at, it could be a comedy with a bunch of gross-out humor that you can barely listen to. It could even be a movie that you like, but your disgust comes towards the basic premise in a grander sense, like being disgusted by what you see in 12 Years A Slave or Schindler’s List. Either way, this film should make you cringe.
 
Now, here are my personal choices that fits the criteria.
 
 

Joy:  Ghostbusters

Image result for ghostbusters images
 
 
 
 





This movie provides me a lot of nostalgia since I saw it when I was about eight years old.  The humor and the wacky scenarios that happen in this movie make me happy in many ways because it still doesn't get old for me seeing the same scenes over and over again and that's say a lot since I don't re-watch movies that often.

Sadness: Dead Poets Society

Image result for dead poets society

Every single time, I watch this movie, it breaks my heart to tiny pieces, while I feel like crying a lot even if I seen it twice already. For me, the main reason why this make want to cry a lot is because I could relate to the inner demons that some of the particular students in this movie a lot and that's what this movie make me emotionally sad.

Fear: Scream

Image result for scream 1996 film

Usually when I watch a horror film, I don't get scared that easily, but Scream really takes the cake because I really don't want to watch the whole movie from what I seen so far.  For me, the stalker voices literally freaks me out and that mask just scares the living daylights out of me. Anyways, I want give kudos to Scream for scaring me because this does not happen often when I watch a horror movie.

Anger: Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom

Image result for indiana jones and the temple of doom willie

Personally, I love this movie a lot, but whenever I think about this movie, I think how much Willie (Kate Capshaw) made me angry in particular. The reason why she makes me so angry in particular is it drives me bonkers to me to hearing her screaming all the time and depending on Indy to save her. To me, she didn't depend on herself at all and that angry because I believe that anyone can able to a strong and independent person, while still caring about the people they love.


Disgust: Grown Ups 2

Image result for grown ups 2










I personally admit that I didn't see the whole movie, but from what I saw I was very disgusted it at for certain.  To me, I was cringing a lot from this  because I find it cringe-worthy to me when I hear about females in a sexualized way. To me, there a lot more to a woman than how huge her breast are, how big their ass is, or how attractive there are. To me, I  can't possibly fathom how much movie would made even more offended if I watch the whole entire thing and I'm thankful for the fact I have more class than this movie will have.





Tuesday, June 30, 2015

June 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Harvey

Harvey is one of those movies that I didn't know that much about in general except for the fact that Universal pictures considers it a classic movie and family friendly movie based on a DVD I got a while ago. From recently watching this film,  I just find it to be mediocre despite this film having its strong moments.

For example, I understand that the plot of this movie must of been very entertaining back at the time since it involved the comical hysteria that a certain generation of movie go-ers are used to when it came to comedy movies back in the 1950's when it came to everyone thinking that Elwood P. Dowd (James Stewart) was crazy for having a invisible  pooka friend  named Harvey. The only problem for me is that the plot was very outdated and it loses some of the possible quirkiness that it had since the humor is something I'm not particularly used to at all.  Also, even thought it was a good story to watch at times, it was pretty dull since they relied on trying to get Elwood away a good portion of the movie, which annoyed me a lot since I wanted to learn more about Elwood past before he met Harvey.

Another thing that sometimes was a hit and miss spot of the movie was the acting. For example, the best acting in the movie was James Stewart as Elwood P. Dowd. The main  reason why is the fact that Elwood was a man of many complex layers when it comes to how sweet and oblivious he was to the world around him. Even thought Elwood can be quite peculiar at times,  James Stewart makes you feels attached to him even more since he acts so differently compared to most people you'll meet and that's what makes him special to the audience.  Anyways, the other acting is nothing that special unless you say Josephine Hull because she really makes the audience member pay attention to antics that she provides in the movies.

Finally, I'm pretty certain that this film can still appeal to many people who haven't seen this film at all, but to me the story magical touch was not completely  there for me since  comical hysteria is not forte at all and the lack of character development on certain characters made this film loose its magical touches for me as well.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

May 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Three Colors: Red

Seeing the end of a trilogy that any cinema buff has invested their whole time when it comes to watching for the first time is like a swan song.  The reason why is because they will never have the experience of watching it for the first time again. Also,  the good thing about this end of the trilogy is that is still combines the things we except from this trilogy, while providing the audience a different perspective of what the color red means to this movie.

*WARNING: THE PLOT PART OF MY REVIEW HAS SPOILERS IN IT, SO DON'T READ IT UNLESS YOU SEEN THE FILM !!!!!!!!!!!

The plot of this movie is about a lonely woman named Valentine (Irène Jacob)  who is an kind and helpful person that develops a unlikely friendship with a retired judge named Joseph Kern (Jean-Louis Trintignant) that has unfortunately lost faith in humans being itself. Also, this plot is just remarkable to watch and I will give you my opinions of it. First, the foreshadowing of this film is so creative to me. For example,  I found it very clever that the similarities to between Joseph Kern and Augustine (Jean-Pierre Lorit) to be quite interesting since they are so similar except for the age difference of about thirty years combined. Also, the part where Joseph Kern tells Valentine his dream in the film about her falling in love with someone who makes her happy makes me think that Augustine will be the one since they always are intertwined together throughout the movie when it comes to walking and being at the same area together without them realizing it. Another part of the plot that made me appreciate this movie a lot is the fact that anyone can infer what the symbolism is about without Kieslowski forcing the audience to go along with the idea he has engraved in his mind for this film.  Finally, the last thing that I found very remarkable about this plot is the ending because all of the characters we invested our time too during the whole movie will have the liberty they were looking for and to me that is a beautiful and hopeful thing to see to make this film impact even more powerful than it would anyways.

Second, the acting in this film is just blows me away. First of all, the chemistry between Irene Jacob and Jean-Louis Trintignant is just amazing because I love the fact that it doesn't rush into things at all, while still providing the major theme of this film. The only bad thing about the acting is that the chemistry between Irene and Jean really overshadows their own individual  performances despite the fact that they were good to watch.

Finally, having the experience to watch this trilogy for the first time was defiantly life changing for me since it made me think of colors in a different way than I had thought about them anyways. If it wasn't for these three films, I probably would of still thought that colors are just plain instead of thinking that their is more to learn about colors instead of what types of colors would look good in my artwork.  Also, if you haven't seen this trilogy you should see someday because this film is easily change your life when it comes to looking a colors at a different way, while giving you complex symbolisms and great storylines that will make you easily invested in this trilogy.



Saturday, April 25, 2015

April 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Three Colors: White

After  Three Colors: Blue, the second film in this trilogy was a fresh breath of air. First,  having a combination of some very dark humor that isn't laugh out loud friendly at all  with a quick pace was really great. Also, it was easily the most entertaining  one of the trilogy that I have seen so far, but the thing that stands out in this film is that  Kieślowski knows that he needs a lighter film and that is what makes this film not feel so repetitive when it comes to the first film . 

Instead of dealing with an emotional woman, who is in a deep depression after losing her husband and daughter  in the first film, the plot involves a man named Karol (Zbigniew Zamachowski),  who is trying to get some revenge on his wife Dominique (Julie Deply), after he  was deeply humiliated at the court when he wife announced that he didn't love him a more. Personally, the plot easily the most laid back in the film with the symbolism, while they show the color of white pretty frequently. The only problem I had with the plot is that the murder sequence and the ending did not make any sense to me since it wasn't that believable. I am pretty certain that Kieślowski has a reason for it, but right now I can't grasp why those moments in the film are symbolic to the color of white at all.

Another thing that was quite different in this film is the character study of Karol was quite different than the character study of Julie. First of all, the main reason for him starting this journey is for revenge since his ex- wife took everything from him, but at the same time he tries his best to be as normal as possible despite the fact that he is considered a criminal. Second, his way of coping was basically trying to re- build his life all over again. The reason why is because it basically helped him distract the wanting desires of his heart, which is Dominique. Finally, once the ending was about to come, the audience can tell that he was in pain even though he tried to do everything to win Dominique again since he realizes his mistakes that he did as a husband. Also, if you want a simplified version of this sentence when it comes Karol wanting Dominique back, this particular lyric of Katy Perry's The One that Got Away that sum it pretty well. By the way,  the lyric that describes the a of the movie is : I should've told you what you meant to me (Whoa)'Cause now I pay the price. If that lyric doesn't summarize the longing Karol has when it comes to Dominique, I don't know what else would work when it comes to a lyric of song. 

One of the other things that made me go this is very different is the cinematography again. I know that seems pretty weird that I am talking about cinematography since I normally don't talk in any movie reviews that I do, but in a movie trilogy that is called the Three Colors Trilogy it is very vital that the camera to focuses on the color that the film is talking about. Thankfully, in is film they focus on the white color very well by making it very beautiful, while showing the purity that white has. Also, if they didn't focus on making white the main star of the show by showing different aspects of this color, the story wouldn't have work out this well. 

Finally, the last thing that I will talk about in this movie is the acting from Zbigniew Zamachowski. Personally, to me no one can match the sure brilliance that Binoche had as Julie in Blue in this trilogy, but besides that he did a stellar job as well. One of the things that I found remarkable about his acting is the fact that he can switch emotions in a very calculating way . For example, there were some moments where you can tell he was proud of himself as a character, but at other times he felt empathy for others. To me, that is something I love about seeing complex characters in general, so I applaud him for playing someone like Karol.

Even though White might be the weakest film in the trilogy that I have seen so far, the massive potential of Red becoming even better than Blue or still around the same level as Blue is very exciting for someone who hasn't seen Red. Also, if the last film keeps it up with the great character developments, cinematography, and meaning of symbolism that reflects the plot vey well, this trilogy to me will be considered one of the greatest trilogies that I have seen since in a while since  the Before Trilogy.