Tuesday, December 20, 2011

The Dark Crystal movie review

Do you ever wonder what the darkest Jim Henson film there is before he died? This movie  has fantasy with a family friendly ideas. If I didn't give you any helpful clues about the movie I'm talking about you will find out what movie I'm talking about.

The plot of this movie is very unique and different than most Jim Henson movies. This movie is not your happy goofy film that you assume that Jim Henson would do with The Muppets before he died.  Instead, this movie is about a Gelfing who name is Jen. Jen is a elf like creature who has to do a quest since his ageing master is deceased. Jen is supposed to get crystal stuard which will help him with his prophecy against the cruel villains in the movie which were called Garthims. Also, Jen is has met an another Gelfing named Kira who help him with his quest besides a dog like pet named Fizzigig. 

The animation for this film is breathtaking. The animation is not like your usual CGI that you see in the movies today. The hands and facial features were controlled with primitive rods and cables. Also, Mystics costume were really heavy. The actors had to put up the Garthim costumes before they moved again in the movie while still being inside of the costume. I personally wish that Hollywood had more smart idea in ground breaking animation like in the original Clash of the Titans. The animation is a great example on how Hollywood needs to be original and give us refreshing ideas along the way. 

The screenplay was written by a guy named David Odell. David Odell used to work with Jim Henson on The Muppet's Show. He knows Jim Henson's imagination well and sounded like an idea that Jim Henson would write if he had the time to do it.  David Odell really did help by making this movie one of the most iconic movie of all time when it comes to Jim Henson and Frank Oz movie career as movie directors.

The critical acclaim and box office for this movie was very successful. The budget for the movie was about fifteen million dollars and the film made over 40 million dollars when it was released in the movie theaters on December 17, 1982.  This film has won a Saturn Award for Best Fantasy Film of the Year and the movie earn the grand prize at the Avoriaz Fantastic Film Festival that year. Also, the film was nominated for the Hugo Award for Best Dramatic Presentation and was nominated for a BAFTA award for it's special effects. In France and Japan The Dark Crystal had the top box office gross of the year. Also, it grossed more than E.T.  the Extra Terrestial. This movie was the most successful forgein film in Japan until Titanic came into the movie theaters fourteen years later. The film became a cult following after the years that movie was on the theaters.  On Rotten Tomatoes the film is rated seventy- one percent fresh on the critics board on this film site.

If your mom is a huge Jim Henson fan I would see this unless your not a mature teen because the movie is more darker than the usual Muppet movies. The kids might be drawn into the story, while the parents can be talking about how movies are not the same as twenty years ago. Go watch this movie if you had not seen this breathtaking movie from begging to the end.










Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Top Ten I'm Thankful of when it's come to movies

What are you thankful for when you see movie? Thanksgiving is coming up very soon and I would basically want to thank ten things that I am thankful for when its come to movies besides my family and friends.




1.  Other film blogs
  Without  other film blogs the knowledge I have of movie would not be this rich in detail. The film blogs are the most fun things to read on Blogspot.

2. My followers on Blogspot
I am so thankful for my followers because without them I would probably not be this successful in the movie blog in the first place. I always enjoy the wonderful comments that my followers sometimes give to me about any film I review or stuff like that.

3. Helpful websites for movie recommendations
I am usually stuck on which movie I want to watch for the weekend. Without these helpful websites like Jinni, Rotten Tomatoes, IMDB, and Icheckmovies I would confused on what movie I would like to see on the main weekends.

4. Movie channels on the TV
Usually I records stuff on anything movie channels most of the time because it's less expensive than buying a DVD on a movie. I love that there are no interrupted ads on the television when most of the movie channels just mainly the movie. That's the most refreshing part of having movie channels on the TV.

5. Film awards like the Academy Awards
It's not really fun if you don't have rewards for the best film. You don't get to predicate about which wins  for what category. You even talk about some of the best movies without mentioning the movie awards. Without movie awards things would we a lot more boring for an movie buff.

6. Film Critics
Film Critics are so helpful when it comes to movies too. The critics are really helpful when you have no idea what to see in the movie theaters.  The critics are usually right about the  movie you need to see and sometimes they are incorrect about a movie you need to see. That's the only bad things about critics beside the horrible critics who think a good movie is terrible.

7. Movie Buffs like me
Without the movie buffs the world of movies would not go around at all. Most people probably wouldn't hang out with them at all.

8. DV'DS
DVD's are some the best ways of learning more about movie that you  didn't know about. I love the commentaries that some the  movies will give you if someone buy the movie. That's one great refreshing thing about DVDS that I'm am thankful about.
9.  Movie Theaters
Movie Theaters are great to watch to movie on the big screen. I love that you get to have snacks and munch on them in the movie. A great thing about some movie theaters is they add classical movies to their theater instead of the new movies.
10.  Fun iPhone  related apps about movies
The iPhone can be really addicting when you have apps related to movies. You can play fun games related to movie trivia and you can watch movies on your own Netflix account. There are great ways to wait for something like going to the doctor's office.

Honorable mentions: Video Store like Blockbuster and watching movie online like Netflix.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

End of the Week: November 7, 2011- November 13, 2011

I have seen a lot of movies and I had been very busy since I have done my last post. Here are the movies I saw for the last time that I posted.


Forbidden Planet
This movie is one the most iconic science fiction movie that I've ever seen. Leslie Nelson can actually act in a dramatic movie, which is pretty shocking to me. Robby the Robot was one the first robots to have different personalities in a movie and it has inspired many movies as well. Without Forbidden Planet science fiction wouldn't be as exciting for most  movie fans.
Rating: 10 out of 10 stars

Around the World in 80 Days
If I had to recommend which version you should see it's has to be this one.  The acting was fantastic. David Niven and Shelly MacLaine were some the best part of the movie. The only compliant I had with this movie is why did it won Best Picture for that year. If I were the Academy Award people for that year I would have chosen The King and I and Giant for the Best Picture since I have seen both of those movies. Also, the remake was really pointless. Go see this movie if you want to see a very old family friendly movie for your kids.
Rating: 8 out of 10 stars

The Crucible
The Crucible is one the most underrated movie I've have seen in the Salem Witch Trials. The acting was excellent in  this movie. Wyonna Rider, Daniel Day- Lewis, and Joan Allen's performance were believe and I felt that I lived throughout this timeline. I am so thankful that I didn't live in this time period. I would watch this movie if you wanted to learn more about the horrible history of the Salem Witch Trials
Rating: 8 out of 10 stars



Star Wars: Return of the Jedi
This is the last movie of the great original trilogy that Star Wars has created for us. I wish that George Lucas could have stop the Star Wars franchise at this movie. The most annoying people in this movie were the Ewoks. At least, those furry creatures didn't last for long in the movie. Go see this movie if you want a friendly action movie for the whole family.






Sunday, August 14, 2011

TCM's Summer of Stars 2011 review marathon # 1- Modern Times


This movie is one of the greatest comedies of all time when it comes to a silent film. The name of this movie is called Modern Times.

Here's the reasons why Modern Times was one of the best silent comedy film for this generation. Most people called this film Charlie Chaplin's best achievements and this movie is one the most popular movies of Charlie Chaplin's career. It is number 33 on AFI's 100 Years... 100 Laughs when the American Film Institution resealed this as a movie list for all the hundred years of great movies ten years ago. It is number 81 on AFI's 100 years ... 100 movies list. It is also number 78 on AFI's 100 years... 100 movies (10th anniversary edition). Modern Times was "culturally significant" by the Library of Congress in 1989.

The acting in this film is perfect. You can tell that the chemistry The Little Tramp had on the main girl in the movie. The reason why the chemistry in the movie was working because Charlie Chaplin and Paulette Goddard dated each other when four years ago before the movie has started.

The screenplay was brilliant because there were no words from this film from the actors.  Here's a wonderful reason on why this film was made to be silent film instead of a talkative film. Charlie Chalpin feared that this movie will be ruined if this movie was a talkative film. The reason why Charlie Chaplin feared this is because he wanted the audience to feel the romance and mystery would be odd if this movie spoke its own lines. I agree because the film made a huge impact for the audience around the world by being silent, so the audience can get the whole story without the words.

Every single classic movie fan knows the plot to the story.  I won't tell the plot because almost any one can tell this plot without figuring it out.

This is one the most iconic films of all time. Everybody should see this movie once in their own life because the movie inspire people by making the person a huge fan movies, even if the movie is really old or new. Get this movie for anyone who thinks classics are boring and are a waste of time. Maybe you can give this movie to your family, so you can enjoy this wonderful movie



Rating of movie: 10 - The filmmaker was proud to make the perfect movie for everyone to see and it will always be a classic for all generation to come

Thursday, July 28, 2011

TCM Summer Under the Stars 2011 movie marathon



If you been a huge fan of TCM you'll known about TCM's Summer of the Stars. The event is always in August and the channel honor one star each day in August. I will review and watch some of the movies that TCM Summer under the Stars has to offer for this year. Here's some of  the movies I will review for TCM's Summer Under the Stars this year. There's a little sneak peak of what I will review when this event start with a list. I hope everyone enjoys this movie marathon idea.

1. Modern Times
2. On the Waterfront
3. The Hunchback of Norte Dame (1939 edition)

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Things in Cinema: July 8, 2011- July 16, 2011


Does this movie seem more awful and crazy with this picture?

Zookeeper
Sometime a movie with talking animals can be really good and sometimes a movie with talking animals can be really bad. A great example of a bad talking animal film is in the cinema right now. The jokes in this movie must be really bad and the acting will be the worst thing about the film. It seems that Kevin James is having horrible movie roles recently and his acting is not that good in his recent movies.



Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II
This is one of the most exiting thing that happened in the summer this year for most of the Harry Potter fans.  It is sad to see that all of the child stars will have their last movie together. The child stars acting has improved a lot when they were older.  Everyone in the movies for the last ten years have done a brilliant job in everything they do. This might be the best movie ever in the Harry Potter series.  I will do a fun Harry Potter marathon in all the movies before the latest movie is here in the United States
Winnie the Pooh
I know this sound crazy for a  teenager boy to say, but I'm excited for the Winnie the Pooh movie. The last Winnie the Pooh movie was made was five years ago. The reason I'm excited is because the animation from the movie will be better than the previous films from the Winnie the Pooh series. At least I can see this movie with all the family members I have.  I hope this movie is successful at the box office in the movie theaters across the world and in the United States

Monday, July 4, 2011

Happy Birthday to America

I hope everyone is going to enjoy Fourth of July. The things I will do in the Fourth of July is visiting family members and reading some books that I'm interested in.

What are you doing for the Fourth of July?

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

End of the Week Post from June 20- June 26, 2011

Those are the main movies I saw this weekend and I will do a list of great film blogs website you should go to.

Green Lantern 3/10
Personally, having the movie introduction about Green Lantern wasn't a good idea. It make the movie viewer not that interesting in the movie anymore. There so many flaws in this film. You can easily count how many mistakes they are in this movie. You notice that the movie has a is horrible at the acting, story telling, visual effects, and screenplay idea too.

Field of Dreams 7/10
This film is a great and inspiring movie for the whole family. The acting is good enough and it's one the best family friendly movie of the 1980's besides the Star Wars series in my opinion. Make sure to watch this film with your own family.

 Here's the list of blogs you should go to.
1.Jack L. Movie Reviews
2.Cinematic Paradox
3. Blah blah blah gay- a movie review blog
4. The Silver Screen
5. LAMB
6. Nick Plus Movies
7. Feminsing Film
8.Matt S. Film Reviews
9. Not Just Movies
10. Nothing is Written: A Film Blog
11. Ryan Marshall's Movie Review
12. The Blog of Lord Naseby
13. The CACB Blog

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Things Coming Out in the Cinema: June 22, 2011- June 25, 2011


Cars 2
I think I should give this movie a chance because it's from Pixar. I had a horrible experience watching Cars in the cinema because the movie theaters close to my home made the movie extremely noisy. I did enjoy Cars when I saw it on the television and I think people who hated Cars should give this film a chance since it's from Pixar. Please don't listen to the critics rating on Rotten Tomatoes! Please listen to the audience this time!!!!



Bad Teacher
I am a guy who not interesting in romance movie usually. I predict this movie will be so bad because most critics aren't interesting in the romance genre. Sometimes a romantic movie can be good, but this one will be in the club of really bad romantic movie that critics don't like at all. The plot of this romantic movie sounds really bad to most of the guys who aren't fans of romantic movies


Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Prince of Persia:The Sands of Time


Most video games adaption never work and it seems that the video game it is based on is better than the movie itself. All of the video game adaption movie seems to be extremely bad and it is the truth for most critics and most of the film buffs too. Like ever single game adaption I bet that a actor or actress regretted being in the film itself.  This is the review of the video game adaption movie called Prince of Persia: The Sand of Time


The plot is about an boy who name is Dastan (Jake Gyllenhaal) who got adopted from the king named Sharaman (Ronald Pickup). Fifteen years later Dastan has to help the beautiful princess named Tamina (Gemma Arteron) put the dagger in the right place or else the world will be destroyed if the wrong people use the dagger. We learned that Nizam (Ben Kingsley) wants to kill every one in his family including Sharaman so he can get the dagger.

I personally felt that Ben Kingsley role was wasted at this movie. I known Ben Kinsley can choose better roles because he won a Academy Award for a great film called Gandhi. The acting was pretty horrible from the main actors. Even, Jake Gyllenhaal and Gemma Arteron barley showed any emotion that a important main characters should so we can care about the main characters. The supporting characters were so dull that you wanted to fall sleep in your couch while watching the movie.

The screenplay was horrible. The screenplay was so bad that you  didn't even laugh at all for the whole entire film. There a lot of negative things I can say about the movie, but I don't want all them because the audience has heard all the insults of the screenplay.

Mike Newel directing felt extremely too fast for my liking. Usually when he directs there more emotion into the character and the scenes itself.  I hope personal hope that he gets back where he knows he good at directing at.

The film was a all round bad movie and the wasted the movie just so the movie production company can have money. It was pitfall and I don't recommend it to anyone who a action fan.


What I got: 30 percent -  I could barley survive the movie, but it was better than I expected on a terrible movie.

Sunday, June 19, 2011

End of the Week post

Here's are the film I had seen this week and I will make short review about the movie I've seen this week.


Prince of Egypt  Rating: 8/10

The Prince of Egypt is a inspiring movie and it quite interesting. The animation from the movie has really breathtaking, even if the animation is outdated to some people. It had great acting all round and it was a great movie.

Once Upon a Time in the West 10/10
This is my first time seeing a spaghetti western and my first time to see a Sergio Leone movie too. Sergio Leone  really amazing as a director. The first ten minutes was really silent and it made you interesting in the movie and you wanted to see all the movie without even sleeping until the movie is over. The acting was brilliant and it was perfect in my opinion.

The Secret of NIHM 7/10
The animation was okay, but completely outdated. The acting from Dom DeLuise was the best acting from this family movie. It a good movie for a eight year old to watch together as a family.

That's all I've this week in movies

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Character Interview for the characters of The Secret of NIMH.


I will interview the animated movie characters of The Secret of NIHM. Here's the interesting interview.

James: Who do you like shiny things Jeremy?
Jeremy: I love shiny things because it's so shiny and pretty
James: How all your four children doing since the house moved into a different location?
Mrs. Frisby: My four children are doing okay and Timothy is now healthy as a human.
James: Auntie Shrew, did you know that the bird you caught was a friend of Mrs. Frisby?
Auntie Shrew: How can that ugly mean spirited bird be a friend of Mrs. Frisby?
James: Maybe you should watch the movie yourself.
James: Justin, were you sad when Nicodemis died in the movie?
Justin: I was very sad that Nicodemis died and I wish him the best in rat heaven.

That's the end of the interview

Friday, June 17, 2011

Thing that our coming out in the US Cinema: June 17, 2011


Mr. Popper's Penguins
 We all know that this movie was based on a book. Sometimes a movie based on a book can be good, but this one doesn't look good at all. I really think this movie is something that  your younger kid want to see in the movie theaters and nobody else in the entire family want to see this  except the younger kid. The movie sound dull and should of have a better storyline in my opinion.


Green Lantern

I really want to see this, but since the Rotten Tomatoes rating is bad I might not want to see this. This movie might be the worst comic book idea of the year beside The Green Hornet. I feel sorry for Ryan Reynolds because I know he acts way better than this movie that coming out in the movie theaters.

Saturday, June 11, 2011

Interviewing the characters in Star Trek (2009 movie)



A day ago I saw the movie the movie called Star Trek and it was directed by the wonderful movie director named J. J. Abrams. Here's the interview for the most of the Star Trek character in the 2009 movie,  even if it is not a original idea. I will be asking all the good details in the movie and the interesting questions that weren't answer in the movie.

James: What is this movie about Kirk?
Kirk: The movie is about the U.S.S. Enterprise and saving the my home planet Earth.
James: That wasn't helpful enough. I'll go asked Spock what the movie is about?
Spock: The movie is about a guy named Kirk who parent's died. Kirk wanted to be in the Starfleet Academy, but he cheated on the test. Doctor Scott Mc Coy helped Kirk by making sick on the U.S.S. Enterprise. Kirk and me help save the world with all the other important character from the villain named Nero.
James: Who is Nero Spock?
Spock: Nero destroyed my Vulcan and he killed Kirk father when he was born. He wanted revenge since another Vulcan destroyed his hometown and his own wife.
James: Uhara, why do you find Spock so hot and dreamy?
Uhara: I love Spock's pointy ears. I love the way his eyes are as pretty as plain glass. Also, I love how hot his body and I love his pointy ears of course. OMG! OMG! I I know my answer acted like a teenager when I answered your question.
James: Do you think helping your friend Kirk was the right thing to do?
Doctor McCoy: I think helping my friend was the best thing to do since I didn't want him to be alone by himself.
James: Do like Kirk Sulu and why do you trust Kirk?
Sulu: I trust Kirk because he is a great captian and he a very daring captain. I like Kirk because he is a good buddy of mine.

This is the end of the interview and I will do my next character interview on some movie, but I have no idea which movie I should do it on. Please comment if you want to about that suggestion I should do on the next character interview.

Sunday, June 5, 2011

How to Train Your Dragon

Waring: This review contains spoilers in plot section. If you didn't see this movie from beginning to end I recommend you to not read it.
Do you always wonder what is like to have a dragon as a pet? The best chance you will have to learn about what happens when a dragon is a pet is on How to  Train Your Dragon. The movie will inspire anyone who is child or an adult. Some people are inspired by this movie because they want to have a pet dragon or it has a important message of treat animals as your friend, not your enemy. There are many ways that the movie can change a person's life.
 The plot is about a boy named Hiccup (Jay Baruchel) who wants to be a dragon slayer for his troop of vikings. Stoick the Vast (Gerald Butler) wanted Hiccup to compete in the dragon slayer training because Stoick wants to how his son can do in the slayer training. Hiccup has to beat five other people who been selected in the dragon slayer training. Hiccup has to beat Astriod (America Ferrera) a girl Hiccup has been trying have her as a girlfriend. The second person Hiccup has to beat is a boy who has read the dragon's manual about seven times and his name is Fishlegs (Christopher Mintz- Plasse). The third person Hiccupp has to beat is a guy who also interested in Astroid and his name is Snoutlout (Jonah Hill) The final two people he has to beat are two twins named Tuffnut and Ruffut Thorston (Kristen Wig and T.J. Miller). Hiccup's apprentice is a person who has lost one of his legs and his name is Gobbler the Bleach (Craig Ferguson). When Hiccup started Slayer Training, he started to befriend his tribe while everyone else has no idea. Astroid is starting to figure out that something is strange about Hiccup in the dragon games. One day Astroid found Hiccup training his dragon who name is Toothless and she was pretty mad until Toothless flew with her.  Hiccup didn't really fight the dragon in the slayer training award and strated to show that dragons can be lovable creatures. Then, Hiccup blurted out that they was a dragon's nest for every single creature and Stoick takes Toothless with since he will know where the dragon nest is at. Stoick plan is to kill to dragons and Hiccup tells the five people he had in Slayer Training about his own unique plan. Hiccup kills the dragon and everyone wonders if Hiccup is dead. He wasn't dead and the tribe accepted his own way of how dragons should be their pets.
howtotrainyourdragon_03.jpg
The screenplay was based on the book with same name from the author Cressida Cowell. This was a good idea to borrow the book idea because the book had something different about dragons that no one would except until the film comes out in the theaters. The thing that no one excepts until the movie was out that dragons can be your friend besides your enemies. Every single movie that you see with a dragon shows how that a human was a enemy with the dragon. In this movie you see something more creative idea related to dragons instead the same story about dragon all over again. The screenplay was different and it is still original idea for the screenplay
drag.jpg
The acting from Gerald Butler was better than usual. He didn't act the way he does in action movie or romantic movie. It was something unique for him to performance something not romantic or action packed. Jay Buechel acting was so inspiring and anyone can relate to Hiccup in this outstanding performance of Jay Buchel's. The acting all around was fantastic. 
train-dragon-review.jpg
The film was fantastic. The film had perfect animation and has a great message for anyone. Go see it now if didn't see this movie last year!!!
  









Rating System: 9- The film was almost perfect, but you messed up on one thing that a perfect film should have.