Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Blogging Spotlight # 3- Surrender to the Void

For the third edition of this Blogging Spotlight I have chosen  Surrendor to the Void. This blog deserves it and here are the reasons why. If you need a refresher on the previous Blogging Spotlight please click link 1 for a refresher. If you want to check the other version you can go to the Blogging Spotlight tab you will see at the bottom of link 1.

1. The Auteurs sections about the movie directors from the present and the past are truly amazing. They give you information on what the plot about, why did the director do this film, the stages of making a certain film in a director's filmography, how sucessful it was at the box office, the acting from the movie, and what the critics and audience thought about the movie. If I didn't convince you on the first reason why you should go to this blog, you are missing out one of the best blogs about film.

2. Her reviews are just as wonderful as her Auteurs series. They give the same amout of detail about the film and you feel super smart after reading the movie review. One of the best things about the reviews is in the bottom of the page. You will see a orange colored words on the movies she has seen related to the director and you click on it to read another review of a different film.

3. The author proves it to you that she is a huge movie buff. The person has a Criterion account and a Letterboxd account. That the third and final reason why this blog is in the Blogging Spotligjt section 

Thank for reading this lengthy and passionate report in a blog that deserve all of the acclaim it gets.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

My Favorite Directors: Steven Spielberg- October 2013

Steven Spielberg is one of those directors that have many countless classic that memorable from many genres in the films. Every single time I see a Steven Spielberg film I known that I will enjoy the movie even it is sad or just a plain fun movie. That's why is he one of my favorites and here is a list of the films I have seen of his filmography.


1. Indiana Jones Franchise
The Indiana Jones Franchise is super iconic for many reasons. The action sequences are timelss and they are extremely memorable. Indiana Jones and all the other important characters make this series one of a kind treasure that I will cherish forever. Those are the reasons why this is number one on the list.

2.  Jurassic Park

Jurassic Park is the one of the most iconic summer blockbuster of all time. It was something different back in the day because the GCI made the dinosaur made it so relistic and scary at the same time. Another thing that makes it different because it's a thrilling joyride of a movie that you always see and never get tired of it. That's why this movie is rated Number 2 in this list.

3.  E. T. the Extra Terrestrial
   
E.T is one of the best family film out there. You get memorable quotes, timelss movie scence, and a creature that will make any heart melt unless you hate E.T.  One thing I wish they would do again in Hollywood is creature orginal ideas that are family friendly and can past the time after a decade. 

4. Jurassic Park: The Lost World

This sequel isn't as impactful as the first one, but it's still as fun movie to see. You awesome action sequences all around and thrilling scenes too. If you want to have a fun movie that doesn't take itself seriously you would watch this movie and that's why it is number four on this list.




Sunday, September 8, 2013

Things Out of the Cinema: September 6 2013





Riddick (Vin Diesel) is back on the film role that made him a household action movie star.  Will this movie be better than the Chronicles of Riddick? I think this movie has a good chance of being better movie than the last one. If you want to see a decent action flick you should see this movie before it out of the theaters.

I really can't think of other movies for that week that make some type of impression to the point where I can write my thoughts on the movie before seeing it. Thank for reading this edition of Things in Cinema.



Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Blogging Spotlight # 2 - Rupert Pumpkin Speaks

 Rupert Pumpkin Speaks will be added as the second blog on the Blogging Spotlight edition of this blog. Here are the reasons why this blog deserve to be there.

1. Favorite Underrated Drama lists, Favorite Underrated Comedies Lists, and other lists of his.

I love reading about those lists because you get to learn more about movies  that are not well known to movie buffs from Rupert Pumpkin and his friends. 

2. I learn new facts about movies whenever I go to his blog

When I first came to his blog I didn't known there was a thing called  Warner Bros Archive. That is basically a DVD collection of films that are not that well known in the Warner Brothers movie selection . Another thing, I always learn from his blog is about  films that I've never heard of before and I find that very fascinating about his blog. 

Those are the reasons why you should go check out Rupert Pumpkin Speaks, the blog.


Monday, September 2, 2013

Blogging Update # 1 - September 2, 2013- September 8, 2013

Blogging Update is a way for the readers to expect what is coming to the blog this week and don't expect this schedule  to always be accurate. Also, this schedule is just a way for me to be more active on this blog.

On Tuesday, I will publish the second Blogging Spotlight on blogs that I find worthy of this title on my blog. The blog that will get this honor is Rupert Pumpkin Speaks.

On Wednesday, I will type a review on Paths of Glory for my first edition of Criterion Collection Spotlight. The Criterion Collection Spotlight is about writing reviews on films that are on the Criterion Collection. 

On Thursday,  I will do a Things Coming Out in the Cinema segment again. If you need a refresher here are first three editions for you.
Link # 1

Link # 2

Link # 3

 On Friday and Saturday I will doing another segment called Weekly Ketchup thoughts from Rotten Tomatoes. The first one on Friday is the opinion of what I think on the fresh side of the column. The second one on Saturday involves the rotten section of the column. 

Those are the Blogging Update for this week and I hope that you enjoy this preview of what's happening in this blog.


Sunday, September 1, 2013

My Favorite Directors Blogathan: David Lean- September 2013


David Lean has done a variety of films and he made a impact in all of the films he has directed. Also, he made an impact for me because he made me think about films in a different way. That is why David Lean is in my favorite director's blogathan.

1. Lawrence of Arabia

Lawrence of Arabia is my favorite David Lean film that I've seen so far. The acting was super. I couldn't picture anyone else playing T.E. Lawrence in this movie. Everything about this movie is perfect and that's why this film is my favorite David Lean film.

2. Brief Encounter

Brief Encounter is one of those movies that is worthy of being in the ranks of classical romances films like Gone with the Wind and Casablanca. The romance between Laura Jesson (Celia Johnson) and Alec Harvey (Trevor Howard) is heartwarming and tender, even thought they were having a affair with each other. Also, you feel sorry for both of those characters since they both are married, middle class people, and are respected by the peers. That's why this film is considered one of the best love of story of all time and twist makes this movie much more special than your typical romance story.

3. Great Expectations (1946 film)

Great Expectations is one of those novels that most people are probably to read during English class in their freshman year. The expectations of the movie are pretty high since most former ninth graders could be watching any adaption of the novel. The film that most teachers should choose for when there done reading this film is David Lean 1946 version of Great Expectations.  The movie has the same amount of romance, friendship, and details to keep the audience satisfied. Also, this film scatters a lot during the film, so you better read the book before you put this movie on. This film meets the expectations of what former and current high school students when it comes to making a film adaption of this book.

Saturday, August 31, 2013

Movies Iv'e seen for August 2013

Here are the films that I saw for August 2013. I hope you enjoy this list.

Driving Miss Daisy

Driving Miss Daisy is a wonderful film that deals with  friendship that lasts for around twenty five years with a elderly woman and her chauffeur driver named Hoke (Morgan Freeman).  The film has great dialogue that is realistic in this time period of the film. Having Alfred Uhry be the person who writes the lines for the movie was a great move since he was the original writer of the play that movie was based on.  The chemistry from Jessica Tandy and Morgan Freeman is fascinating to watch as they becomes best friend for life. Both of them made their character believable for the audience to root for.  This movie is a splendid choice if you want to see people have long lasting years with each other.
 Rating 7 out of 10 stars

Great Expectations (1946 film)

Great Expectations is one of those novels that film studios love making different adaptions to the story all the time, but this version is the best one of the bunch. It got the some similarities as the novel and the movie was thrilling just like the book. I can't image anyone making this film than David Lean and I enjoy the film. It worth time if you want to see the best Great Expectation movie adaption of this book.
9 out of 10 stars


Now, Voyager
 
Now, Voyager is a great example of films that Hollywood does not make anymore these days.  The story is plot driven and isn't all about the romance like typical romance movies you see these days at Hollywood. The movie makes you care about the characters by getting to know them instead of rushing into the romance very quickly. The film is brilliant in its own way and it is a great example of a good romance classic film
9 out of 10 stars


Thursday, August 15, 2013

My Favorite Directors Blogathan: Alfred Hitchock- August 2013



                                  1. Vertigo

Vertigo is the ultimate masterpiece from most fans and critics  except Psycho, Northwest by North, and Notorious which was mentioned in this list.  The film is so complex, that it needs multiple viewings to appreciate the film than the first time you see it. If you haven't seen Vertigo, go see it! It worth all of your time if you want to master of suspense at it's best.






2. Notorious

I can see why Truffaut and Ebert think Notorious is a ultimate masterpiece, but to me it is one of Hitchcock's masterpieces that I've seen besides the number one of Hitchcock's masterpieces that have on this list. The camerawork is stunning in this film. The acting from Claude Rains, Ingrid Bergman, and Cary Grant are spot on. This movie is worthy of being called a masterpiece from critics and film buff alike.


3. The Birds
This movie is more than some special effects that involve getting attacked by birds. The Birds is about how man and nature have not adapted to each other, while both species are struggling to survive. One thing that horror makers today  should watch in this film is how you get the chance to known the characters before you frighten people. The Birds is one the best films I've seen that involve man vs. nature. 

4.Strangers on a Train
This movie has a special place in my heart because it was the first Hitchcock film I saw. The merry go round and the tennis court scene were great climaxes to the movie and this is a gear movie to start watching your first Hitchcock movie for your lifetime.

5. Dial M for Murder
Dial M for Murder is a great mystery film by itself and the characters in this film were really entertain. You get to wonder how the main character is going to get with away with murder or not. The film pretty good, but it was better than the previous two other films that I saw related to Hitchcock filmography.

 



Monday, August 12, 2013

The Favorite Directors Blogathan

Here are the directors that I will be doing for this blogathan. This has to have twelve favorite directors of yours in a list that says what are your favorite movies of
that director's certain filmography. This blogathan was originally started  Lauren Rosen III from The Busybody and I am excited to start this blogathan.  

Sergio Leone (August 2014)
Tim Burton  (September 2014)
 Charlie Chaplin (October 2014)
Akira Kurosawa( November 2014)
Stanley Kubrick (December 2014)
Richard Linkletter January 2015)
TBA February 2015)

Blogging Spotlight #1- Cinematic Paradox

The blogging spotlight is when I tell you about a certain  movie blog that I enjoy reading and I will tell you what I think are the best parts of this person movie blog. The first blog that I will put on Blogging Spotlight is  Cinematic Paradox. Here are the reason why this blog is in the first edition of Blogging Spotlight. Also, I hope you enjoy this segment on my blog.

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Childhood Memories with Ray Harryhausen



Ray Harryhausen was a special effects legend. He makes a impact in the movies by not using GCI and instead he did something else to make the movies that he was in charge of iconic. He used stop motion animation which is when someone makes a realistic model of something. The way that I will honor Ray Harryhausen death today by telling some stories of when I first saw the special effects of Clash of the Titans and Jason and the Argonauts.

The first time I saw Jason and the Argonauts is a few days after Christmas in about 2008 in the DVD format. The first time I saw I completely blown away on how he made the effects all by himself. I love seeing all the creatures this film had to offer and the skeleton army parts of the movies. This was the start of more memories to come from Ray Harryhausen and his amazing special effects.

About three years ago I saw the 1981 version of Clash of the Titans. I remember wondering if the original would be better than the remake that I saw in the movie theaters. I decided to go watch at TCM in 2010. It defiantly worth seeing on the television and it was better than the remake by a long shot. The special effects were thrilling and just breathtaking at the same when you saw the original. In the remake the special effects were decent, not at breathtaking as the original. Unfortunately, this is the last time he did special effects in movie, but it made a huge impact on how memorable the movie was.

Today, we have a lost a special effects legend named Ray Harryhausen who had made stop motion animation exciting and memorable at the same. Ray Harryhausen will always be a legend no matter what people say and I will cherish the moments I had watching the movies that he did special effects on.


Monday, March 18, 2013

Oz: The Great and Powerful Movie Review

Rating: 50/100


When Disney decided to make another Oz film I really not convinced about this idea. First of all, I love the 1939 classic The Wizard of Oz. Also, it is very tricky to make a Oz movie without comparing it to the original Oz movie. Oz: The Great and Powerful miss most of marks that made the original a classic.

The summary is about a magician named Oz (James Franco) who is currently struggling in the business and constantly dreams of bigger and better things to come in the future in a rural area of Kansas. Oz is stuck on a tornado after trying to escape people on a hot air baloon and now is transported to the land of Oz. After Oz meets Theodra (Mila Kunis), he learns from another witch named Evanora (Rachel Weisz) that he has the destroy the Wicked Witch before getting his kingdom.

The screenwriters of this movie were awful. Almost every single time you meet a new character they say something like your the wizard we have been waiting for. That's some of the awful things that the actors were forced to say. The most realistic dialogue in movie go Glinda as Michelle Williams, which is a lot of proof that screenwriting was worst as it gets in a film.

The acting in this movie is not that good since the script really didn't help their actors with their complex characters in this film. James Franco was okay choice for the role of Oz, but someone like Robert Downey Jr could of nailed the role. Mila Kunis knows act as complex characters like in Black Swan, but the script didn't giver her the freedom to portray this action at all. I known I'm sound like a broken record that repeat certain parts of a song, but Rachel Weisz barley does anything in this film.

As in any movie there are some positive parts of the movie. First of all, Michelle Williams made her character Glinda somewhat believable. Finally, the last positive thing I have are the special effects. The characters make you really happy to come to the film and the flying monkeys were really cool to look at.

I had high expectations on this film,but the movie had two successful components, The visual effects look very cool in the trailers, but it didn't impact the film at all. If I was by this by myself I probably would walked out of the film in the first thirty minutes of the film. Here some great advice for everyone. Watch the 1939 The Wizard of Oz if want a great fantasy film and don't watch this mediocre film if you have the chance.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Most Anticipated Movies of 2013 for me

2013 has started already. There always something that people anticipate for and cannot wait until the certain things start like music, books, and TV shows. Movies are the same way and these movies to me are the most anticipated movies of 2013. I hope you enjoyed this post.


The Great Gazby


There many reasons why I love to see this movie. Leonardio DiCaprio is one of those actors who knows how to play any character he puts his mind into. He done everything to romance, thriller, noir, and many other genres. The second reason I would love to see this is because I had not seen a Baz Luhrmann movie in my life. That's mainly why this movie is in my Most Anticipated Movies for myself this year.


Side Effects


Side Effects is one of those movies that is so complex and mysterious in it's own ways that I really want to learn what happens in this story. I really wish that I can Steven Soderbergh movie, but I at least I can see this movie when I get older. Also, I feel sad that this director is going to retire soon.


Star Trek: Into the Darkness
This reboot for the Star Trek movie franchise was one of the best ones seen in a while. I have really high expectations for this movie since J.J. Abrams is directing it and I wonder if it will top his first film in this franchise.

Pacific Rim

This is one of my most anticipated film for me because Guillmero de Toro is producing it and I hope that is better than the Transformer series. Also, the plot seems intresting to me.












Tuesday, January 1, 2013

Top Five New Year Resolutions to improve this blog for 2013

I want to say Happy New Year to everybody before I start my New Year Resolutions to improve this blog. Let's just say these are goals will help me improve as a better blog writer and be more active in the movie blogging community.

1. Be more Active

Examples for anyone: Following people blogs and making your own blogging post daily.

2. Having fun while blogging

Examples: Participating in blogathons and trying to have topics that not involve your certain main topic on your blog

3. Read other posts from other bloggers and comment on them if you have something to say.

4. Be yourself while blogging about movies or anything in general

5. Trying to spread the word about your blog if you can Examples: Facebook, Twitter, or any social media sites you want to promote it to.