Friday, October 3, 2014

Movies I've Seen: September 2014 edition

This month's edition is pretty short this week when it comes to movies, but I will talk about the four movies that I have seen this September and there are all unique in their own way.

Moonrise Kingdom was the second movie I have saw from Wes Anderson and my first impression was his quirky style can work without the wonderful animation that goes in Mr. Fantastic Fox. Also, another thing that I love about the movie is how unique the point of view when it comes to two children falling in love each other, while providing characters that are entreating and assuming to watch at the same time.

Sixteen Candles is easily one of the best teen comedies out there and no one can direct a teen comedy like John Hughes because they provide the perfect amount of humor and drama together, while making it realistic for teenagers who are stuck in high school like me when it comes to crushes, grandparents, and awkward sibling encounter. Also, whenever I feel like watching a teenage story, I will always prefer to watch films like this instead of Mean Girls.

Evil Dead II: Watching a film that has made a director really famous feels really good because you can tell where the director's background is when it comes to making movies and I can see why the second movie of this trilogy is highly regarded as the best film of the trilogy to many horror fans. First, it provides a perfect blend of humor, while providing all of the over the top gory scenes that this film offers. Second, the acting from Bruce Campbell is crazy good. Finally, I feel like Sam Raimi has made some of the boring clichés that goes on in horror movies like going into a cabin less predictable than it would normally be if the director is not that passionate about watching other movies besides horror.

Rise of the Guardians is easily one of the most creative animated and original ones that I have seen in a while. First, I love the storyline of all of the important figures in our life during a child has their own world where they provide the things kids need like the tooth fairy, Easter eggs from Easter bunny, and so forth. Second, the world building is pretty creative and they explain everything in a simplistic manner that isn't too confusing. Finally, the film message touched my heart strings and that is a sign that any great family film should have in my opinion.

I hope you guys enjoy the list and I hope everyone will have a wonderful weekend.

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Top 10 Horror Films Shame List: The Films I'm going to watch on October

Since it almost October already, I felt like putting a top ten shame list on horrors flicks that I am going to watch to in October, once the  Hoop Tober horror event on Letterboxd begins. If you don't know what Hoop Tober is I will explain what it is before I start the list. The Hoop Tober event is mainly where you watch horror movies for thirty one straight days with some strict guidelines, but I would rather you learn them yourself by clicking my version of Hoop Tober instead of me giving the rules.  Now, I will list some of the films that I will plan to see this October and why I am trying to get these certain ten films off my shame list on October and this list is in no particular order.

1. The Evil Dead from Sam Raimi  is one of those films that made a huge impact on the horror genre itself from a low budget and I would love to see how the low budget makes this film pretty scary without the budget that Evil Dead II has . Also, I would love to see how both of the story are similar and different from each other after seeing Evil Dead II this month for the first time on Chiller.

2. The Night of the Living Dead is another film that list that I want to see very badly since this film made a major impact on when it came to zombie in horror films and I keep hearing that this is one of the best zombie movies that George A. Romeo did besides Dawn of the Dead and Day of the Dead, so I am very pumped about this journey of exploring one of the best zombie movies out there for inexperienced film fan that hasn't seen a lot of horror movies.

3.  Psycho is one of the most well known films that Hitchcock directed and as a huge fan of his work, I fell like I need to see Norman Bates attacking the people and I also wanted to see the famous shower scene in the film where Janet Leigh started to scream pretty badly once Bates kills her.  Once I finished this film sometime in October this year, I can easily say that I say one of the most iconic horror films of all time, which makes me feel pretty good about myself as person who is very passionate about movies.

4. The Omen is one of most well known movies when it comes to one particular character, which is Damien Thorn and that is one of the reasons why I want to see this film really badly. Also, I am not well experienced when it comes to creepy kids in horror movies unless you count Heather O'Rourke as Carol from Poltergiest, so this makes the journey of learning more about iconic horror character and movies more exciting when October begins.

5. Suspiria is a film that I have heard mentioned so many times when it comes to scary movies and  Italian horror as well. The reason why I want to see this film is that I am not familiar with the genre of film that is related to horror and I would like to see why this film has such a huge cult following with audiences and movie critics around the world.

6.  Horror of Dracula is one of the Dracula movies people mention a lot when it comes to Hammer Horror films and I am very curious to see how a Hammer Horror was done back when Christopher Lee was playing Dracula. Also, I am curious to see why the reputation of this Hammer Horror film is considered timeless to horror fans out there.

7. Carnival of the Souls is one of those films that shocked people a lot when the first see this movie and that makes me want to know why people consider this a horror film classic. Another thing that made me curious is to see how black and white films horror were like besides the Universal monster movies that I have seen that involve the classic horror monsters that I love watching.

8.  Kwaidan- When I found the plot of this movie earlier this year on TCM, the plot and the cover of the movie poster intruded me a lot and made me want to get this out of my shame list immediately. First, I love films that involve Japanese adaption to creepy stories and the second reasons why this film was pretty high in my must see list in October is that it has won the Special Jury Prize at the Cannes Festival, which is pretty remarkable to me since the Cannes is the most iconic film festival out there for film buffs.

9. Pepping Tom is a great step for me when it comes to seeing an Powell and Pressenger, since I would like to see a darker side of their filmography after watching A Matter of Life and Death and The Red Shoes this year. Also, I would like to see how their cinematography changes since the mood of the film is quite creepy and horrifying as well. Also, I would see why this film is considered one of the best British film when it comes to horror too.

10. A Tale of Two Sisters is another good choice for me to put off my shame list because this is considered a modern horror classic from foreign films and I always wanted to see how Kim Jee- Woon creates these wonderful, but original ideas that are very different from some of the foreign cinema that I have seen so far in my life.

Saturday, September 20, 2014

Before Midnight Movie Review

WARNING: This film has spoilers, so don't read it if you haven't seen the movie or the rest of the films.

Seeing the end of a remarkable trilogy end makes me very sad, especially if I felt like I was the part with the certain characters in any particular movie like Before Midnight. The reason why I feel like this trilogy ended in a different note are by seeing the dark side of the couples we love, the perspectives change again, and the endless possibilities that the ending provides once you see the film.

First, the bitter sides of seeing a couple that used to be in love is quite frightening to me, especially the fighting scenes at the hotel. Without spoiling it that much , you felt so cringe worthy and horrifying when you see the couple fight about the compromises  that they want in the relationship. All I wanted to do when I saw those scenes, is hope that they stop arguing about the problems that they are currently happening at the hotel.

Second, the perspectives now change since they are a married couple. Jesse perspective is still writing his books, but now he feels guilty for not being the father figure he should of been his ex- fiancée child. Celine perspective is still the same when it comes to feminist views, but now all she wants Jesse to do is to stay with her children that they have together as well, which is quite selfish of Celine.

Finally, the ending of the movie makes me wonder about the future of Jesse and Celine's relationship a lot during the end and I have my opinions  on what happens if Richard Linkletter does not want to  make a fourth film in the Before installment. My thoughts are that Jesse and Celine will still be together because they are like best friends to each other, but if Richard Linkletter does decide to make a fourth film I will see it, but the anticipation of seeing it for the first time  wouldn't be  the same as the Before Trilogy.

Also, I am very thankful that I have enjoyed the ride of a journey of a lifetime and to those who haven't seen the film, I will really jealous that you get to see those films for the first time and those memories of seeing the films for the first time for me will have many fond memories of joy, sadness, and love for the characters that I have known for so long.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

The Elephant Man Movie Review

David-Lynch-Sept-Blue-Velvet-02-rec
Also, please make sure to tweet this event by saying #DavidLynchSeptember if you like the event.

Watching your first David Lynch film can be quite a great experience for someone who has heard so many good things about his films, but thankfully I am already saw my first David Lynch movie this year, and it has everything that I have wanted for my first film of his, which were wonderful cinematography, a really complex plot that has meaning and shows experiences from previous films , and the creepiness that he loves to show that is always filled with surprises.

First, the plot is tailored to perfection for his style of filmmaking when the film was released because he had experience in doing a movie like this and it was his  directorial debut film Eraserhead. Basically, Eraserhead involves the same plot idea like The Elephant Man when it comes to people/creatures who are judged by majority of  society while providing different ideas based on similar things. The example that I had for The Elephant Man is that John Merrick gets accepted in the community for being himself for the most part in this true story  and the tone is probably a bit more less darker than Eraserhead,  The example that I have from Eraserhead from what I have known about the movie without seeing it is that the baby is a monstrous creature and causes a lot of bad mayhem for the main character of the movie instead of positive influences to people  like The Elephant Man's John Proctor.

Second, the cinematography makes the movie more unique in my eyes. The first thing that made me love this part of the film is black and white  scenes of the film come to life more often and it makes the film stand out more when it comes to story as well. Also,  the cinematography helps the movie in the heart felt moments of seeing John Merrick 's finally being accepted in community, while provided some creepy images that goes perfectly in this film. The last thing that makes me feel appreciative of the beauty of the film is that impact as a whole wouldn't make a big difference if this film was made in color.

Finally, the creepiness of the film made this film pop with surprises. A good example of this the beginning scene in the movie where John Merrick  gets attacked by animals during one frightful night and I didn't except the beginning to go like that and it made me hooked on the whole entire film. Also, another good part of the film that shows this trait is the bad dreams and kidnappings that had happen to him, which made me feel sorry for him even more besides the fact that people find him a freak, when he isn't one at all.

At the end of the day, this film has made me want to see more David Lynch films and the meaning, how the films looks, and the creepiness factor helps this movie out when it comes to a beginner in David Lynch films like me with less darkness in the film and I would recommend this as a best place to start if you are interesting in his works as well.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

My Favorite Directors Blogathan: Tim Burton- September 2014

The reason why Tim Burton is in my list because I enjoy him when he is at his element of creating original work that he is very passionate about, which I find sad because most of his work these days aren't like that anymore.  Now, I will list to you the films of Tim Burton's filmography that I have seen.

1. Edward Scissorhands is my favorite Tim Burton film for many reasons. First, the personal connection that we have with Edward Scissorhands is great because we want him to succeed in this quirky town that he lives in. Second, the chemistry between Johnny Depp and Winona Ryder is incredible to watch during the whole entire movie because you feel like you want to couple to be successful in a relationship, even thought they are complete opposites. Finally, the ending is very awesome and I love the fact the ending is very personal to Tim Burton because it shows how depressing it can be to have someone bully you for just being who you are.


2. Beetlejuice is a great step when it comes to how creative Tim Burton can be when it comes to a story he loves, while creating original movies. First, the idea of saying Beetlejuice multiple times is very creative. Second, the animation and the live action of this movie is remarkable and creative. Third, there are so many famous scenes in that movie. Finally, I love how dark the humor is when it is a family film that the whole family could watch.



3. Pee Wee Big Adventure is a great debut for Tim Burton and it easily show his unique features as directors and there are many reasons why I like this film a lot. First, you get Paul Reubens as his best, which is playing the iconic role of Pee Wee that everyone loves if you were a child of the 80's and 90's. Second, this film represents how entreating family films were back then and it isn't the same anymore these days. Finally, this film made me aware of who Pee Wee Herman is and how innocent the actor used to be before he got into major trouble.



4. Frankenweenie is the easily the best film that he has made in decades and I will explain why. First, Tim Burton is doing something that he hasn't done in ages, which is creating a story that he is very passionate about and is original. Second, the animation and creativity in this film reminds me of the things he did during the 1990's. Finally, I find it amazing that Tim Burton still has this captivity to films like this and I am praying for a Tim Burton comeback when it comes to films like these.


5. Batman Returns is a major step-up from this first film and I have reasons why I love this film better than the sequel. First, the darkness of the film made it more a like a Batman movie to me. Second, the villains of this film are more complex than the first film and they are not always what they seem. Third, the character of Max Shreck was a major highlight of the film for me, even though he is barley in it. Finally, the casting for the villains in this film are perfect and the actors play the villains perfectly.  


6.Batman is a great film that was match made in heaven for him when it comes to comic book adaption and I will explain why I love this film. First, the acting from Jack Nicholson is brilliant since he makes fun of himself on the previous film he has done and the embraces the role as the Joker too. Second,the plot of Bruce Wayne's journey is quite smart since the dilemma makes the idea of him being a human who saves the world more believable. Finally, the action was pretty fun to watch, even thought it was not that good as the Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy.

7. Corpse Bride was a good idea from Tim Burton, but there were some things that made this film an okay film for me. First, the plot was alright, but it didn't add the spark factor that when it comes to the films he used to make in the 1990's. Second, the animation was alright, but can tell that some of things in this film are GCI instead of hand stop animation, Finally, the ending made this film was pretty redeemable  considering the fact that the film storyline was pretty predictable.

8. Alice in Wonderland re-adaption from him was a pretty bad idea and I have my reasons why I feel this way. First, doing it live action loses all of the creative that this film has to offer and it would be awesome if the film was stop hand animation instead. Second, the story is pretty rushed for a live action movie. Finally, there were not a lot of things in the movie that stood out and I have forgotten a lot of the movie as well.

9.  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a remake that should of not happened and I have my reasons why this is so low in list. First, you can't beat the original when it comes to how magical this film is and the performance of Gene Wilder as Willa Wonka. Second, the kids and Charlie didn't have the same special types of character connection when it comes to the original. Third, half of the things that were in this film were unnecessary and they didn't add anything important to the storyline.  Finally, the ending was just very blah compared to the original.  

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Movies I've seen: August 2014 edition

Since August is coming to a end, I thought you guys  would want to learn films I have been watching for this month and there were various film that I have watched this month. Some of the film that were included involve a guilty pleasure movie, a documentary, and a romance trilogy that melt and break your heart,. Now, I will mention the eleven films that I saw for this month.


The first film I saw in August was  A Matter of Life and Death is pretty amazing to watch in general and if you want to read my thoughts on this film please click here

The second film I watched was the sequel to the iconic 80's action movie, which is called Conan the Destroyer, but it wasn't that good. The reason why I say that is the plot is way to serious for a dumb action movie and the violence is barley there at all. Next time, I will easily watch the Conan the Barbarian  instead of this horrible sequel.

The third film I will mention that I have watch  is Sharknado this week and if you want to read the whole review on this excellent guilty pleasure film, please click here

The fourth film I have watched is Rescue Dawn directed by Werner Herzog and I find it okay for my first film of his and I have reasons for that. The beginning was pretty slow, but once you get closer to the hour mark, the film gets really interesting. Another reason why I found this film okay is that Christian Bale did a excellent job as the main character in the story. If you have nothing else to watch when it comes to war films, this is a decent choice in my opinion.

The fifth film I have watched is Before Sunrise and if you want to read my thoughts on this film please click here  

The sixth film that I have watched is Before Sunset and you can click here if you here if you want to read the review.

The seventh film I have watched is Before Midnight and I was pretty sad when I was done with this trilogy because I have invested three days of learning more about the characters. Also, during September, please be on the lookout for my review for this film.

The eight film I have watched is the Disney classic Beauty and the Beast and I enjoyed it a lot. The reason why I enjoyed this because I love how creative the Disney was when it comes to recreating the iconic fairy tale and I love the music parts of this film. If you haven't seen this film, I would recommend you to see this Disney classic easily.

The ninth film I have watched is Aliens and I love the film a lot. First of all, I can see why people love Ridley Scott and I love how she tells it like it is, while being very passionate about the things she cares about. Second, the action sequences during the end of the movie were pretty awesome. Finally, this film makes me want to see Ridley Scott's Alien very badly.  Also, if you love great sequels on horror movie franchise, you couldn't go wrong by watching this one.

The tenth film I have watched is Guardians of the Galaxy and I have fun time watching this film, even thought this film had major flaws like not enough character development and world building information for me.  Other than that, I would recommend this film to you if you want a different comic book flare that isn't show a lot.

The final film that I have saw for August is a documentary called Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of  007. I personally found the documentary about James Bond to be very interesting, but most of the facts that I knew beforehand before watching this documentary, which makes the story misleading to me since I know a lot about Bond. Also, if you love documentary films and Bond, this isn't the worst thing to happen when it comes to documentary filming.






Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Before Sunset Movie Review

Before I post this review, I want to warn you that there are spoilers in this review, so go see this  movie or Before Sunrise if you haven't seen these films already.

One thing in Hollywood that I find very challenging for directors to complete is to make a sequel better than the original film, but Richard Linkletter has accomplished the very demanding task of making the sequel better by making  the tone of the movie has change, and the chemistry of the actors have changed, and the perspectives and motives of Jesse and Celine have changed to help this film when it comes to making the film more mature.

The first thing that I loved the about the sequel is the tone of the movie has changed to its settings in Greece instead of having the happy and go free tone that the first film did in Vienna, which I found refreshing and realistic since not everything  can be the same as the days when Jesse and Celine who feel in love with each other for one night. Since the first film, the tone was very different compared to the first film and the tone of the movie to me is  bittersweet. The reason why I say that is you can tell from the bright and dark tones of the scenery and the landmarks that the director does to give you a major hint of what's going to happen before you see the dramatic results of the acting from Ethan Hawke and Julie Deply in the car together before they come to Celine's house.

The second thing that I love about the sequel besides the tone of the movie is that the chemistry of the character that we love as changed. Instead of the being two couples of being falling in love, they have been thinking about the past and wondering what would happen if they start to become a couple together instead of being married to their current boyfriend or girlfriend, which does give another hint on how different the chemistry is, which is awesome to see, Also, another thing that I have noticed on how mature the chemistry is that the ways that they interact in a flirting way have changed into a more elegant way as well.

The final thing that I love about the movie is the perspectives and motives of the characters have changed dramatically since the first time you have seen them on film and I have a good amount of examples it. First, Celine's view on reincarnation has changed because she does not believes in them anymore and Celine's feminist views on the females in her society are becoming a bigger motivation to her as the film progresses. Second, Ethan motivation in this book is to have his fairy tale of having Celine in his comes to life instead of words that he has written when he has became a bestseller author and his perspective in life is more honest and brutal than it was during the first film. Finally, these examples shows that people's perfectives in certain area can change as the become more wiser and know themselves better to.

 If you have seen Before Sunrise, but not this film, I highly recommend you to see the couple you fall in love with become more mature as those nine years have passed and seeing them again is like seeing an couple that you know pretty well in real life and who couldn't resist seeing a sequel that has improved tremendously over the first film. .

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Guilty Pleasures Movies Blogathan : A Sharknado Movie Review




Before, I start reviewing my Sharknado movie review and put the rules on there, I just want to thank Allie and Jenna from Flick Chicks this wonderful blogathan idea and I can't wait to read other posts about the blogathan once the due date begins, but first I have to state the rules.

1. The blogger who is writing in this blogthan can choose the amount of movies that they want to watch, but you have to explain to Jenna and Allie why you like  it a lot.

2. Please create a new post for our Blogathon, rather than linking an old post you may have already done

3. Use the blogathan banner that they provide somewhere in your post.

4. The deadline for this blogathan is on August 31, so you need to do soon as possible if you decide on participating in this blogathan like me.

Since, the rules are now stated, I will give you guys the review of the latest guiltily pleasure movie that I have actually liked in a while after seeing some bad movies this year .

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Thursday Movie Pick Meme: Time Travels Movies

I am very excited about the subject that Wanderer has provided this week, so I decided it would be great to do this again after having so much fun with the Movies with Ensemble Cast that I did on July. Also, I do like time travels movies as well and I got some time travel movies that I think are wonderful to watch with the whole family.

Meet the Robinsons is one of my favorite time travels movies that Disney offered for many reasons. First, I love the futuristic world that is provided in this movie. Second, I love the T-rex in this movie and I find it very amusing. Third, I love the motto that this film provides at the end of the story, but I won't give that motto away at all. Finally, I love the cast of characters that provide in this movie.

Back to the Future is one of the most known time travel movies of all time and there are many reasons why I love this movie a lot. First, you got the cool backstory of Marty trying to get his dad to dance with her at the prom before his future is bad. Second, the characters are very iconic in this movie and I wouldn't be surprised if you have heard of their names before you saw the movie. Third, you got the awesome moment in the film the song the Power of Love by Huey Lewis and the News comes on. Finally, you get to see Michael J. Fox on one of his most successful roles as Marty McFly.

Time Bandits is an underrated time travel movies that I think needs to be talk more often and I have my reasons on it. First, it is on the Criterion Collection, which means that the film has made a major impact in someway to film lovers out there like me. Second, this a great start for kids to get introduced to Terry Gilliam as film director without showing them his adult work. Third, the time traveling is so unique since dwarves aren't normally in time travels films at all. Finally, the world building in this film is much more creative than your average family fantasy film in my generation.

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Before Sunrise Movie Review

Something I always wanted to experience is a day worth of being in love with someone that I probably won't talk to again because I love the fact that you can express your darkest and deepest thoughts for once about your perspective in life, while feeling like you are exposing your true self, which is probably feels liberating to someone who hasn't experience it like me. Also, I am in the stage in my life where I want to experience the young love where you can only have if you have a certain connection with someone. This is why Before Sunrise has touch me in a personal level when it comes to how the connection is between the two actors that play Jessie and Celine and  how realistic the screenplay for a romance movie.

If the acting or the connection was not spot on I would have a very hard time believing and realting to the characters, but thankfully this didn't happen to me at all after hearing and reading about how amazing this movie can be to people who aren't a huge romance genre fan. A great example of this is every single time the actors Ethan Hawke (Jesse) and Julie Deply (Celine) are talking to each other, you feel like you are on the journey with them and every single time they do something together you feel so happy and liberated while they are together, and when they leave you feel a sense of dread because you want to see them more as a  potential couple falling in love.

The other thing that made this movie so personal to me is the screenplay that was written by Richard Linkletter and Kim Krizan. You can tell that both of these writers have many experiences when it comes to love for their different theory as male and female being in love and the movie proves it because the dialogue sounds very realistic for a potential couple that is starting to begin to lovely process of young love that has a very strong connection. A great example of this is when Jesse and Celine are in the gravesite of the little girl that Celine remembered while going there once as a child and you can tell the love and tenderness that have for each other while barley knowing each other at all and this reminds of when I see young couples in love because you can tell that they might not a connection like this again.

If you are a romantic at heart like me when it comes to experience your first love where you can expose yourself with worrying about what they think in general and still have those one of a kind sparks that you never get again as long as you live, this is a great choice for you and I wouldn't be surprised if this touch your heart and soul like me. Also, the hype of this film is worth and I hope you enjoy the journey that you get to have with Celine and Jesse if you haven't seen this film like I have.


Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Childhood Memories with Robin Williams

When I heard that Robin Williams died, I felt like a part of my childhood was gone and the great things about him as a actor is that you can connect to his characters no matter what age you are, which is remarkable considering that most comedians have a hard time with this when it comes to acting in films.  Since, he has passed away I want to mention the two childhood memories I had with him as a actor instead focusing on the Before Trilogy movie reviews that I have planned to do because honoring a great actor legacy is more important than writing reviews on something that I can easily whenever want to, but whenever something like this happens, there isn't that much time to honor someone like him before it is not acceptable to put  a blog post about someone amazing like him.  The films and character I will mention in this topic  are the Genie in Aladdin and Alan Parrish in Jumanji.

The first film that I will talk about is Robin Williams acting as the genie. First of all, the genie to me is the best part of this film because it makes the movie more magical and fun since Robin Williams was super joyful and entertaining to watch.  Also, the genie has some of the best songs in the film in my opinion because you can tell that Robin is having a blast when it comes to singing all of the songs that he had to sing in Aladdin and it makes me happy by even thinking about it. Without Robin Williams in this film, the magical moments of the film wouldn't be strongly in mind when I have saw this when I was around eight or seven years old.

The last film I will talk is about a film that I have re-watch before when I was about eight, which is pretty rare for me and that film is Jumanji. The reason why this film has a great re-watching ability is the plot of the story is very fun and the fact that we got to see Robin Williams adjusting to life after being in the board game Jumjani for most of his adult and childhood life is quite interesting to see, and I love how vulnerable he gets during the movie when it comes to the two kids who made the mistake of playing this horrifying game. Without Robin Williams in this role, I couldn't image how iconic this movie for a family friendly movie if this film didn't make him into a leading role.

I personally wish that he didn't die, but the legacy that he has made during his years is quite impressive and the childhood memories I had with him will always be dear to my heart. Also, I have condolences to his family for this tragic death and I know for certain that there will not be another great actor in a comedian world that acts like he does in a long time.

Monday, August 11, 2014

Top 8 Quentin Tarantino Movies that I want to see

For a lot of movies fan there are a lot of directors that they need to get off their shame list and sadly on the director's that is on my shame list is Quentin Tarantino, one of the most famous directors of my generation that makes tons of film references to his films, while putting an original spin on the film references that he took from the movie.   Now, I will start my top 8 list on Quentin Tarantino movies I want to see and the list will be based on how I entertained I will be and how badly I want to see that particular film of his.  Also, I hope you enjoy the list.

1. Pulp Fiction is the first film that I would like to see Quentin Tarantino filmography the most out of the eight films that he has completed for many reasons. First, I would love to see the famous dance sequences that this film refrenced from Breathless from Jean Luc Goddard , which is another film in my shame list that I need to see. Second, the plot and characters are so iconic, that I am just curious to how it all plays out it in this particular film. Finally, I love to see this film since everyone considers it a modern classic and it would be nice to get see this film.

2. Reservoir Dogs is the second film in this list for many reasons. First, I would love to have bragging rights from my brother when it comes to seeing the whole film instead of seeing the film in little tiny  segments instead of staying for the whole movie. Second, I love the fact that the characters are named are related to colors and I wonder if the colors of their name relate to the personalities in anyways. Third, I would love to see why people consider it one of the best Quentin Tarantino film besides reading it online on various reviewers on Letterboxd and podcasts. Finally, it would be great to explore the mafia genre, which I am not that familiar with at all.

3. Inglorious Bastards is in the top three for many reasons. First, I really want to see Christopher Waltz performance since it looks really good from the scenes that I have saw when he won the Academy Award for this performance. Second, I would be very interested to see what types of things he would with the film genre of war. Finally, I want to see how much film references he can pack, while still delivering his usual flare of making the film references he uses in an more original and creative way.

4. Django Unchained is on top four film that I want to see from him  badly because I love the genre of spaghetti western and I find very interesting to his spin of a genre that basically is not as known to most of the people who are in my age, which are teenagers unless you have very passionate who loves going outside the typical teenager comfort zone when it comes to movies. Another reason why I would love to see this movie besides the fact that I love spaghetti westerns is the fact that Quentin Tarantino is very passionate about those types of films and I would like to see how many film references I can get from watching this film.

5. Kill Bill Volume I is on my top five when it comes to film that I badly want to see for many reasons. First, I love samurai movies in general and I would love to see his perspective on a genre that I love a lot. Second, I would like to see Uma Thurman performance as the bride because I am not that familiar with the acting career of her at all. Third, I do like watching films about revenge, so I would have a blast watching this. Finally, I would love the action that this film provides.

6. Kill Bill Volume 2 is my top six film for a good amount of reasons. First, I would like to see if this film is better than Kill Bill. Second, I would like to see if the storyline or the pace of the film  is a bit different from the first film. Finally, I would like to see if we got to learn more of Kill Bill past after you watch the first film.

7. Jackie Brown is number seven in this list for many reasons. First, I would love to see how Quentin Tarantino deals with a female as a lead character for the movie. Second, I would love to learn about the blaxploitation genre in general besides the fact that Pam Grier is one of the most famous actresses in that genre. Third. I wonder how the crime element would work with a blend of blaxploitation into the film. Finally, I would love to see Pam Grier acting in a element that she is used to doing with a fun twist of having Quentin Tarantino's unique way of telling stories like this film.

8.  Death Proof is number eight in the list for two reasons. First, I would like to see how this segment works when Robert Rodriguez directs the other two films in the segment. Finally, I would like to see why Quentin Tarantino thinks this is the worst film that he has done in his whole entire filmography of his.

Friday, August 8, 2014

Five Reasons Why I'm excited to see the Before Trilogy

Before I see the Before Triolgy for the first time in my life, I just wanted to state the reasons why I am very excited to start the journey of one of cinematic most known couples of all time which are Celine (Julie Delpy) and Jesse (Ethan Hawke) and I hope you enjoy the reasons of a movie geek's exploration to one of the most beloved romantic movies of my generation.

First, I want to learn more about Jesse and Celine as characters and the progress that they had from becoming a one day night romance in Vienna to how that got married to each other. I know that the reason is not very vague, but in most of my favorite romance films like Casablanca, Gone with the Wind, and Brief Encounter, you don't have many chances to learn about the character's, what their motives are,  how their chemistry works as a couple,  and the connection that the audiences get with the couple in general.  The best part about  these movies is that you have a great chance to feel like you are apart of their world for a longer period than your average romantic movies, which I find exciting because I hate saying goodbye to characters that I had a great personal connection with and

Second, I want to hear the dialogue that this film trilogy has to offer. I know that the reason sound odd, but without realistic dialogue that relates to our lives as humans, the chances of us falling in love with the characters in the film will fail miserably if the words of the film are not spot on at all. Also, the chemistry that the couple has can fail too if the dialogue is not up to par at all. That is why brilliant and relatable dialogue is what I need to hear if I want a chance to fall in love with the films like any normal movie cinema fan does when it comes to couples like Jesse and Celine.

Third, I want to know why Richard Linkletter is so successful when it comes to movies, instead of reading or hearing the general reasons why Boyhood is so critically acclaim, the reasons why people think he is one of the most regarded directors when it comes to his  independent  films, or the reasons why Dazed and Confused and Slacker are on the Criterion Collection.  I personally admit that his resume and the facts about how acclaim his films are impressive, but sometimes as a film fan it is better to see for  yourself why films fans and critics loved a certain director's filmography.

Fourth, I want to see how the places in Europe and the camerawork reflect the couples mood in each movie, which would be very interesting to see. Also, the landmarks and the places they  could possibly give a me a big hint on how the tone of the movie will be too, so it makes me even more pumped to explore the trilogy for the first time.

Finally, I can hear the perspectives on The Before Trilogy from two different movie podcasts that I love to listen to after I complete the movies. The podcast that have the topic of the films are The Matinee Cast and Across the Universe: The Chick with Accents Podcast.  Another great thing about finishing the trilogy that is related to hearing the perspectives of the film is that I can listen to this without hearing spoilers and I can easily have some blogging post if I write down the thoughts I had for both of the podcasts.

After giving to you, the readers a great explanation on why I want to start the journey of lifetime with Jesse and Celine, I have become more motivated to see how impactful this movie is to the audiences around the world and my own age group when it comes to this trilogy. Now, I am going to watch Before Sunrise before Jesse and Celine are begging for me to explore to their personal lives as a couple.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

My Favorite Directors Blogathan: Sergio Leone- August 2014

The reason why I put Sergio Leone in this list is because some of the best movie experiences I had came from him and I wouldn't be that aware of what a spaghetti western is if I didn't see any on his films. That is why here is one this list and if you want to see the previous directors that I have done for this blogathan, please click here.

Image result for once upon a time in the west
1. Once Upon a Time in the West has made a huge impact with me for many reasons and I will explain the reason why this film is number one in my list. First, this was my main introduction to his films and spaghetti westerns in general. Second, the cast that the had in this movie was amazing and all of the characters in the movie were fun to watch. Third, the way that Sergio Leone made the action sequences amazed me because I have never seen anything like it before I discovered him as a director. Finally, this film made me want to discovered more Sergio Leone films since I was very impressed with it.

2. The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly is my favorite movie in the Dollars Trilogy for many reasons and number two in this countdown of my favorite films of his. First, the film does not seem that long at all since it was very entertaining and you wouldn't expect that you watch a film that was over two hour film. Second, the story is very memorable and you feel like your part of the movie when it comes to the journey of the good, the bad, or the ugly when it comes to the treasure that they are seeking thought out the whole film. Third, the action sequences are out of this world and they felt authentic to the movie as well, Finally, the re-watch value in the movie is really high in my book and I would love to re-watch this film someday.

3. For a Few Dollars More is a very good sequel to A Fistful of Dollars and I have my reasons on why this film is number three on my list. First, you get an awesome introduction to Lee Van Cleef and he makes the film a lot more entertaining to me. Second, Sergio Leone directing is a lot better than the first one. Third, the film is a lot more complex when it comes to the plot. Finally, the characters are more fleshed out and I love the fact that we got to learn the villain in this movie a little bit better before he died.

4. A Fistful of Dollars is the film that made a huge impact when it comes to film and I have many reasons why this film is number four on my list. First, this film introduced the world to Sergio Leone. Second, this film introduces us to the iconic score of Ennio Morricone, which is one of my favorite scores of all time. Third, we got introduce to the iconic character that Clint Eastwood plays for the whole trilogy. Finally, the movie has changed my life as well when it comes to seeing this trilogy.

5. Duck, you Sucker is one of the most least known Segio Leone movie since barley anyone talks about it that much, which is quite sad and I have some reasons why this film is number five in the list. First, the narration of the film getter better as you watch the film. Second, this is easily his most playful film, but it still has his signatures styles when it comes to his film. Third, this is one of the best spaghetti western stand alone that I have seen. Finally, this film has all of things that people love about his work and I like that fact about the movie.