Sunday, October 25, 2015

Top 25 Best/Memorable Film Experiences I've had during 2014: #10- #5

Well, I'm almost done with this list and I'm really excited to hear people's thoughts on this particular top ten best/ memorable film experiences for 2014.  Now, I will start the list before I ramble on too much.


5. Enter the Dragon ( 1973 film from Robert Clouse)

Enter the Dragon literally blew me away when I saw it last year and it one of those films that every action movie fan should see.  For example, Bruce Lee is just one of those martial arts star that is very memorable in many ways and I wish he had  more  of a legendary career as a martial arts superstar than he already had if he didn't die very young, but thankfully his legacy still lives on.  Also, this movie is just very different than your average martial arts movie and that why this movie still stands as a memorable experience that you wouldn't forget at all.  

6. The Matrix (1999 film from Lana and Andy Wachowski)

The Matrix is a pretty interesting movie and movie experience because of the world building made it so unique when it came to how the action scenes will play out in this movie.  To me, the reason why the world building was so unique is because this isn't something that I don't see that often anyways, so it makes you think of what can happen to the main characters in this movie. Also, Keanu Reeves fits perfectly with the martial arts related flicks pretty well since he knows how to be those types of characters very well and that's probably why you get so invested on how he fights the bad villains instead of being bored on his vanilla acting skills.

7. Rashomon (1950 film from Akira Kurosawa)

This movie really made me think a lot and I love that. The reason why is because there are many multiple perspectives on what really happened during a certain situation going on that reflects on these individual lives, which is great.  Basically, there is more things I can mention about this film, but I would recommend anyone who hasn't seen this to go blind because the more you know, the less awed you will be when you see this film on the first time.  

8. Robocop (1987 film from Paul Verhoven)

Action movies like Robocop are a rare breed in many ways for action flicks these days.  First, in most action movies today, you don't get the personal bond that makes you want to root for Robocop since you know so much about his personal background before he became a robot. Second, the violence is really gory, but it makes the film stand out because it gives you a idea how corrupt the government was in this fictional setting.  Finally,  the performance of Kurtwood Smith is just remarkable and it's easily one of those villainous performances that makes me think of him whenever I think about this movie.

9. Beauty and the Beast (1946 film from Jean Cocteau)

This film is a magical film in general.  The  special effects in this movie are just breathtaking since it was so creative for a time that were GCI didn't exist at all.  Also, the hard work from the people who did the effects made this film even more timeless as a classic.  Another thing that made this film really good is that I got sucked in to fantasy magicalness of this movie as well.  Finally, this movie did a fantastic job of making me sucked in to this movie as a first time viewer, and that's why this film is in the top ten.  

10. Before Trilogy (1995- 2013 trilogy from Richard Linkletter)

The Before Trilogy is easily one of the best trilogies that I have ever seen in my life.  First of all, I had a huge emotional connection with Jesse and Celine because I wanted to succeed so much after what they went through. Second, these films are so realistic to what can possibly happen in a relationship or how a person falls in love with someone and it makes the film ten times more believable in general.  Finally, the connection between Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy makes these movie stand out the most in my and that's why this film made it to the top ten of my list.

Sunday, September 6, 2015

Top 25 Best/Memorable Film Experiences I've had during 2014: #15- #11

Hi, you guys, I understand that I'm very late to this post and haven't done one since January, but I'm motivated to get this over with and now I will start the list, so I can get the top ten started.


11. Jaws (1975 film from Steven Spielberg)

Jaws is the ultimate summer blockbuster and it is for a reason. First, the fact that you don't see the shark that much is great because you can easily learn more about the background about the town and its characters before the climax really begins. Also, Bruce the  shark presence in the film was very mysterious and that's why Jaws to me stand the test of time when it comes to the ultimate blockbuster.



12. Eraserhead (1977 film from David Lynch)

When I was watching this last year, I didn't that much about it all except that it was a David Lynch film and that it was the debut of his, but let me you that if you don't know what your getting yourself into, it will quite a memorable experience for certain. Personally, it wasn't like a very entertaining movie in general, but the fact that this movie sticks in your mind is very remarkable for a debut film of David Lynch and I really don't want to see this movie again because of that particular reason.


13. Suspiria (1977 film from Dario Argento)

This movie  is easily a one of a kind experience that I wish I can experience for the first time again since it really blew my mind in many ways. First, the cinematography was so beautiful and so detailed when it came to the colors, the patterns, and the way the frame were shoot like artwork that could gone in the finest arts museums around the world. Finally, the plot really adds its creepiness once you get farther to the movie and the climax of this film is just memorable in so many ways. Also, this one of those movies that everyone should see because they don't make horror movies like they used to anymore.

14. Evil Dead II (1987 film from Sam Raimi)

For me, making me laugh in a horror movie is very hard, but with Evil Dead II, Sam Raimi does the perfect balance of comedy and horror at the same time. Also, the fact that Bruce Campbell is one of the rare gifts when it comes to comedic acting because physical humor is very hard to pull off in general. That's why Evil Dead II stand out from the normal horror movies that I have seen multiple times.

15. Aliens (1986 film from James Cameron)
This movie is awesome sequel just in general. First, I love the fact that Ripley is just a strong women who is capable of doing anything she her mind to and I find that very awesome for a female main action hero. Second, the action,science fiction elements, and the horror is very thrilling and tense, which made me very hooked to the screen.  Also, this reminds me that I need to see Alien by Ridley Scott soon since I want to explore of more the world building that this film provides and I want learn more about Ripley as well.



Saturday, August 15, 2015

Against the Crowd Blogathan 2015

Since he gives us permission to use on his banner, I'm going to take advantage of this since this my favorite one from the banners for this year.

Since I did this last year, I thought it would be great to do it again and thank you Wendell for doing this blogathan again. If anyone who wants reminders on the rules that he created again or have never done, I will post them of this blog post to help you guys out. Also, if someone want to check out my post from this blogathan from last year, I will recommend you to click here. Anyways, here are the guidelines that everyone needs to follow in order to create another successful blogathan for Wendell.



1. Pick one movie that "everyone" loves (the more iconic, the better). That movie must have a score of at least 80% on rottentomatoes.com. Tell us why you hate it. 

2. Pick one movie that "everyone" hates (the more notorious, the better). That movie must have a score of less than 30% on rottentomatoes.com. Tell us why you love it.

3. Include the tomato meter scores of both movies
 
 
I hoped that this helped anyone who needs it for blogging purposes when it comes to doing this blogathan and now I will tell you my choices for this year.
 
 
The Film that "Everyone" Loves Except Me: The Magnificent Seven (1960 film)

Rating for the film on Rotten Tomatoes is 93% percent



Seriously, I understand why people love this America remake of Seven Samurai because it got really awesome cast when it comes to people to actors who know how to make movies memorable,  but for this me not having an awesome cast wasn't enough for me at all when it comes to this movie at all.  One of the reasons why I didn't like this movie a lot is because there isn't that much going on.  For what I've seen there was only couple of plot points rom watching about fifty minutes of this film and that saddens me because I would of rather had met the particular seven in a epic journey way like what the Seven Samurai did since the audience could of had a easier time connecting to characters instead of having a lot of plot fillers to add more minutes to this film.  Personally, I tried giving this movie a second chances, but I felt like I wasted my personal time by watching this film and I rather watch Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai any day compared to this film.

 
 
The film that "Everyone" Hates Except Me: Vampire Academy (2014 film)
 
Rating for this film on Rotten Tomatoes is 11% percent

I personally don't get people hate this film because it is the perfect guilty pleasure when it comes to film where you don't want to think. First of all, the world building is so out there that I personally couldn't help myself from enjoying all of the craziness that the plot line has.  Second, the main teenage characters  and side characters normally don't say half of the stuff this movie mentions in dialogue and I love the fact that keep that  because the Vampire Academy books have a lot of sass to them just like this movie and having Mark Walters directing is great for this book adaption to movie aspect.  Finally, the fact that this movie reminds of the book series that I love so much makes me happy and it makes me want to read the book series finale Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead  just by even thinking about this film.


To those who had made it to the end of this post, I personally hoped you enjoy this particular blog post about this particular Against the Crowd blogathan and I hope everyone read the various post from this blogathan that doesn't involve mine as well. By the way, I hope everyone has a fun time writing their personal thoughts on opinions that most people wouldn't have because this is what make us a film lovers very unique in our own special ways.


 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, August 10, 2015

The Film Emotion Blogathon

inside-out

Since the deadline is approaching very soon on The Film Emotion Blog-than, I thought it would be a great idea to participate in this before it is too late. Personally, I can't wait to see what people will think about my thoughts on the movies that make feel fear, anger, joy, and disgust.  Before, I begin my list I will give you guys the rules.

1.) Pick five films to represent the five emotions in Inside Out. The criteria for choosing these films is listed below. I would be willing to allow a tie, if you couldn’t decide between two films to best represent one of the emotions.
2.) Write out five paragraphs, (one for each film) talking about the movies and why you chose them.
3.) Post them on your blog (or Tumblr or whatever).
4.) Send me the link by posting it here in the comments
 
If you additional details on what these things require, I will give to you right now on the next paragraph.
 
JOY: First of all, you want to pick a movie that makes you happy. The kind of movie that you put on whenever you’re in a bad mood that never fails to lighten your spirits. It can be a family film, a romance, a comedy – as long as there’s a smile on your face by the end credits, it should be fair game. 
SADNESS: Now for the movie that made you cry the most. From Bambi to Titanic, there are plenty of tear-jerker movies out there. These are movies where you gravitate towards the main characters and really don’t want to see anything bad happen to them. Maybe a character dies, maybe the guy doesn’t get the girl, but your eyes should be pretty watery by the film’s end. 
FEAR: This is the movie that gave you the most nightmares. Pretty self explanatory. There are plenty of classic horror movies to choose from, but it doesn’t have to be an out-and-out horror film. If the movie’s about a more subtle kind of fear, or if the movie just has a creepy atmosphere, that should work. Whether blunt or subtle, this is the movie that scares the **** out of you 
ANGER: This is a movie that you flat out hated. Not a movie that was dull or boring, but a movie that just fills you up with rage just thinking about it. Maybe it’s a movie made by a certain director that had so much potential, maybe it’s an adaptation or a sequel that just didn’t do the original justice. It could also be a movie where your anger isn’t directed at the movie, but at the characters. Ever wanted to scream at movie characters for making such incredibly stupid decisions? 
DISGUST: This last one is a bit tricky, I’ll let you interpret it the way you want. It could be a horror film with a lot of really awful imagery that you don’t want to look at, it could be a comedy with a bunch of gross-out humor that you can barely listen to. It could even be a movie that you like, but your disgust comes towards the basic premise in a grander sense, like being disgusted by what you see in 12 Years A Slave or Schindler’s List. Either way, this film should make you cringe.
 
Now, here are my personal choices that fits the criteria.
 
 

Joy:  Ghostbusters

Image result for ghostbusters images
 
 
 
 





This movie provides me a lot of nostalgia since I saw it when I was about eight years old.  The humor and the wacky scenarios that happen in this movie make me happy in many ways because it still doesn't get old for me seeing the same scenes over and over again and that's say a lot since I don't re-watch movies that often.

Sadness: Dead Poets Society

Image result for dead poets society

Every single time, I watch this movie, it breaks my heart to tiny pieces, while I feel like crying a lot even if I seen it twice already. For me, the main reason why this make want to cry a lot is because I could relate to the inner demons that some of the particular students in this movie a lot and that's what this movie make me emotionally sad.

Fear: Scream

Image result for scream 1996 film

Usually when I watch a horror film, I don't get scared that easily, but Scream really takes the cake because I really don't want to watch the whole movie from what I seen so far.  For me, the stalker voices literally freaks me out and that mask just scares the living daylights out of me. Anyways, I want give kudos to Scream for scaring me because this does not happen often when I watch a horror movie.

Anger: Indiana Jones and The Temple of Doom

Image result for indiana jones and the temple of doom willie

Personally, I love this movie a lot, but whenever I think about this movie, I think how much Willie (Kate Capshaw) made me angry in particular. The reason why she makes me so angry in particular is it drives me bonkers to me to hearing her screaming all the time and depending on Indy to save her. To me, she didn't depend on herself at all and that angry because I believe that anyone can able to a strong and independent person, while still caring about the people they love.


Disgust: Grown Ups 2

Image result for grown ups 2










I personally admit that I didn't see the whole movie, but from what I saw I was very disgusted it at for certain.  To me, I was cringing a lot from this  because I find it cringe-worthy to me when I hear about females in a sexualized way. To me, there a lot more to a woman than how huge her breast are, how big their ass is, or how attractive there are. To me, I  can't possibly fathom how much movie would made even more offended if I watch the whole entire thing and I'm thankful for the fact I have more class than this movie will have.





Tuesday, June 30, 2015

June 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Harvey

Harvey is one of those movies that I didn't know that much about in general except for the fact that Universal pictures considers it a classic movie and family friendly movie based on a DVD I got a while ago. From recently watching this film,  I just find it to be mediocre despite this film having its strong moments.

For example, I understand that the plot of this movie must of been very entertaining back at the time since it involved the comical hysteria that a certain generation of movie go-ers are used to when it came to comedy movies back in the 1950's when it came to everyone thinking that Elwood P. Dowd (James Stewart) was crazy for having a invisible  pooka friend  named Harvey. The only problem for me is that the plot was very outdated and it loses some of the possible quirkiness that it had since the humor is something I'm not particularly used to at all.  Also, even thought it was a good story to watch at times, it was pretty dull since they relied on trying to get Elwood away a good portion of the movie, which annoyed me a lot since I wanted to learn more about Elwood past before he met Harvey.

Another thing that sometimes was a hit and miss spot of the movie was the acting. For example, the best acting in the movie was James Stewart as Elwood P. Dowd. The main  reason why is the fact that Elwood was a man of many complex layers when it comes to how sweet and oblivious he was to the world around him. Even thought Elwood can be quite peculiar at times,  James Stewart makes you feels attached to him even more since he acts so differently compared to most people you'll meet and that's what makes him special to the audience.  Anyways, the other acting is nothing that special unless you say Josephine Hull because she really makes the audience member pay attention to antics that she provides in the movies.

Finally, I'm pretty certain that this film can still appeal to many people who haven't seen this film at all, but to me the story magical touch was not completely  there for me since  comical hysteria is not forte at all and the lack of character development on certain characters made this film loose its magical touches for me as well.

Saturday, May 16, 2015

May 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Three Colors: Red

Seeing the end of a trilogy that any cinema buff has invested their whole time when it comes to watching for the first time is like a swan song.  The reason why is because they will never have the experience of watching it for the first time again. Also,  the good thing about this end of the trilogy is that is still combines the things we except from this trilogy, while providing the audience a different perspective of what the color red means to this movie.

*WARNING: THE PLOT PART OF MY REVIEW HAS SPOILERS IN IT, SO DON'T READ IT UNLESS YOU SEEN THE FILM !!!!!!!!!!!

The plot of this movie is about a lonely woman named Valentine (Irène Jacob)  who is an kind and helpful person that develops a unlikely friendship with a retired judge named Joseph Kern (Jean-Louis Trintignant) that has unfortunately lost faith in humans being itself. Also, this plot is just remarkable to watch and I will give you my opinions of it. First, the foreshadowing of this film is so creative to me. For example,  I found it very clever that the similarities to between Joseph Kern and Augustine (Jean-Pierre Lorit) to be quite interesting since they are so similar except for the age difference of about thirty years combined. Also, the part where Joseph Kern tells Valentine his dream in the film about her falling in love with someone who makes her happy makes me think that Augustine will be the one since they always are intertwined together throughout the movie when it comes to walking and being at the same area together without them realizing it. Another part of the plot that made me appreciate this movie a lot is the fact that anyone can infer what the symbolism is about without Kieslowski forcing the audience to go along with the idea he has engraved in his mind for this film.  Finally, the last thing that I found very remarkable about this plot is the ending because all of the characters we invested our time too during the whole movie will have the liberty they were looking for and to me that is a beautiful and hopeful thing to see to make this film impact even more powerful than it would anyways.

Second, the acting in this film is just blows me away. First of all, the chemistry between Irene Jacob and Jean-Louis Trintignant is just amazing because I love the fact that it doesn't rush into things at all, while still providing the major theme of this film. The only bad thing about the acting is that the chemistry between Irene and Jean really overshadows their own individual  performances despite the fact that they were good to watch.

Finally, having the experience to watch this trilogy for the first time was defiantly life changing for me since it made me think of colors in a different way than I had thought about them anyways. If it wasn't for these three films, I probably would of still thought that colors are just plain instead of thinking that their is more to learn about colors instead of what types of colors would look good in my artwork.  Also, if you haven't seen this trilogy you should see someday because this film is easily change your life when it comes to looking a colors at a different way, while giving you complex symbolisms and great storylines that will make you easily invested in this trilogy.



Saturday, April 25, 2015

April 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Three Colors: White

After  Three Colors: Blue, the second film in this trilogy was a fresh breath of air. First,  having a combination of some very dark humor that isn't laugh out loud friendly at all  with a quick pace was really great. Also, it was easily the most entertaining  one of the trilogy that I have seen so far, but the thing that stands out in this film is that  Kieślowski knows that he needs a lighter film and that is what makes this film not feel so repetitive when it comes to the first film . 

Instead of dealing with an emotional woman, who is in a deep depression after losing her husband and daughter  in the first film, the plot involves a man named Karol (Zbigniew Zamachowski),  who is trying to get some revenge on his wife Dominique (Julie Deply), after he  was deeply humiliated at the court when he wife announced that he didn't love him a more. Personally, the plot easily the most laid back in the film with the symbolism, while they show the color of white pretty frequently. The only problem I had with the plot is that the murder sequence and the ending did not make any sense to me since it wasn't that believable. I am pretty certain that Kieślowski has a reason for it, but right now I can't grasp why those moments in the film are symbolic to the color of white at all.

Another thing that was quite different in this film is the character study of Karol was quite different than the character study of Julie. First of all, the main reason for him starting this journey is for revenge since his ex- wife took everything from him, but at the same time he tries his best to be as normal as possible despite the fact that he is considered a criminal. Second, his way of coping was basically trying to re- build his life all over again. The reason why is because it basically helped him distract the wanting desires of his heart, which is Dominique. Finally, once the ending was about to come, the audience can tell that he was in pain even though he tried to do everything to win Dominique again since he realizes his mistakes that he did as a husband. Also, if you want a simplified version of this sentence when it comes Karol wanting Dominique back, this particular lyric of Katy Perry's The One that Got Away that sum it pretty well. By the way,  the lyric that describes the a of the movie is : I should've told you what you meant to me (Whoa)'Cause now I pay the price. If that lyric doesn't summarize the longing Karol has when it comes to Dominique, I don't know what else would work when it comes to a lyric of song. 

One of the other things that made me go this is very different is the cinematography again. I know that seems pretty weird that I am talking about cinematography since I normally don't talk in any movie reviews that I do, but in a movie trilogy that is called the Three Colors Trilogy it is very vital that the camera to focuses on the color that the film is talking about. Thankfully, in is film they focus on the white color very well by making it very beautiful, while showing the purity that white has. Also, if they didn't focus on making white the main star of the show by showing different aspects of this color, the story wouldn't have work out this well. 

Finally, the last thing that I will talk about in this movie is the acting from Zbigniew Zamachowski. Personally, to me no one can match the sure brilliance that Binoche had as Julie in Blue in this trilogy, but besides that he did a stellar job as well. One of the things that I found remarkable about his acting is the fact that he can switch emotions in a very calculating way . For example, there were some moments where you can tell he was proud of himself as a character, but at other times he felt empathy for others. To me, that is something I love about seeing complex characters in general, so I applaud him for playing someone like Karol.

Even though White might be the weakest film in the trilogy that I have seen so far, the massive potential of Red becoming even better than Blue or still around the same level as Blue is very exciting for someone who hasn't seen Red. Also, if the last film keeps it up with the great character developments, cinematography, and meaning of symbolism that reflects the plot vey well, this trilogy to me will be considered one of the greatest trilogies that I have seen since in a while since  the Before Trilogy. 

Sunday, March 29, 2015

March 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Three Colors: Blue

Krzysztof Kieślowski is a genius when it comes to making Three Colors: Blue. The reason why is because there are so many ways that a person can see the first film in the in this trilogy. For example, there are many creative forms of unique spiritual visions and meanings in this film that it easily makes this film stands out from the rest of the pack of countless foreign films I've seen .

Before I explain the reasons why I considered this film a must see in the selection of foreign films that everyone should  watch, I have to explain what the plot is about and why it is super clever. First, the film is mainly about a  grieving woman named Julie (Juliette Binoche) who is dealing the fact that her husband and young daughter has died in a car crash. I know that the plot it seems cliche , but trust me, the brilliance of the plot is that it actually takes it time to tell a story in a way that a cinephile hasn't probably see a lot. To me, I found this refreshing since it doesn't do what a film about grieving would normally do. Also, to me it makes the movie that much more special since it really made me think about what could possibly happen in the ending when I had first saw this film recently.

 The first thing that made me have a major wow moment in this film is the cinematography. I just find the ways that the used blue in the cinematography to be so creative, but symbolic at the same time. Another thing that I love about the uses of blue in the cinematography is that it is used in a subtle way, so it makes you really think about why every frame with blue colors is symbolic to the movie and Julie herself. The only problem that I had with the blue cinematography in this film is that it was overused at points. For example, seeing Julie swimming over and over again with various shade of blue was pretty tiring after seeing it multiple times, but I can understand why he put it there as to symbolize that Julie is drowning into her depression the farther she doves down to it.  Other than that tiny little flaw, the cinematography provides this film a way to be different in the way that it tells its story.

Another thing that has made me speechless on how amazing the film is how the score is used. Usually when I hear a musical score in a film, I just feel like it not a very important factor to me unless it is used in a way to make the film experience even more magical. The good news for everyone who hasn't seen this film at all is that the score really makes this film even more magical than it was beforehand. First, I love the fact that the score relates to Julie as a character, which I won't spoil for anyone who needs to see this film. Second, the score gives you a tiny little glimpse of having empathy with Julie, which I found really remarkable since you have to really think about why she does all the things she has done in this movie. Finally, the score literally transported me into a different story just for about a couple of hours which is the one of the reasons why watching films is one of my favorite hobbies.

Finally, the acting from Juliette Binoche is just breathtaking. I just love the fact that whenever she has close up shots in the film, that she has barley any expression what so ever and I found that stunning that an actress like her can portray her character like that. Also,I see why  Krzysztof Kieślowski wanted people to ponder on what is going on in Julie's mind because it makes this experience very complex to the point where people might want to re-watch the movie again. Another thing that made me feel flabbergasted when it came to her acting is whenever something absolutely normal is happening, she literally has the exact opposite expression that you wouldn't expect her to have and I can't imagine how hard it is for an actress or actor to act that certain way like Juliette Binoche in this movie.

Three Colors: Blue has been a fantastic beginning for me when it comes to exploring an trilogy that has been talked about ever since it has been released in theaters and I can't wait to see Three Colors: White on this upcoming April of 2015.

Saturday, February 28, 2015

February 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: The 400 Blows

The 400 Blows is one of those film debuts of a director that literally blew my mind when I had saw them for the first time and whenever this happens, I cherish it because magical moments that are timeless like this is pretty rare to see in anyone life time when it comes to exploring a film debut of a director's filmography for the first time.

First, the plot of the story is so realistic when it comes to the character Antoine Doinet (Jean- Pierre Leaud) because I can  see why people think he is an troubled child throughout the whole movie, but really the fact is that is just misunderstood child who doesn't  know what to do. Also,  I see that his parents are really trying their best to raise Antoine the best way possible despite their issues the parents have together, but they have no idea on how to raise a child what so ever. An example of this is that once a child goes to exploring things they shouldn't have done at all, it becomes a way for the child to cope with their own personal problems, and while they in that state of not realizing how bad it is, their innocence of a being a young child is drifting away gradually  drifting each day without realizing it until they mature to the point where they realize that probably should of not done that in the first place.  Another reason why I felt like the plot made the movie such an iconic movie in my eyes is because the director, Francois Truffaut literally puts out his soul when it comes to this movie because he personally had a childhood that was pretty much like Antoine. Also, I can imagine that this is one of the ways that the director itself can express himself without speaking the words about the childhood he had during his life time and it also probably helped him moved on from the emotional pain that has linger throughout his childhood when it comes to people who has treated him wrong when he was Antoine's age.

Second, the acting from Jean-Pierre Leaud as Antoine was amazing because he found a way to make him even more relatable as a main character, while we were stepping inside to his world. A way that Jean did this is that in every scene he was in, he decided to do the tough manly role to disguise what he was really feeling for the most part,  unless it somehow that he trusted for good, but sometimes the people who trust in life aren't the people who really care about you, which makes him more normal in our eyes despite the fact thing he has done to survive. Another way he has done this trait really well, is that we personal see his desires for a normal life, but every time he tries it seems to go wrong and that's make him more relatable because he tries to get a brand new start in places that wouldn't judge him for the past.  If Francois Truffaut did not choose  his particular actor that is basically based on his childhood not very carefully, the chances of this film being the way it is would be fat slim chance of being an classic in my opinion.

Finally, the soundtrack of this film really sets the mood for the film. A reason is because it gives some great foreshadowing that anyone could clearly tell what is going to happen to him based on the particular soundtrack, even thought the movie is not spoken at English at all, Also, another reason why I like the soundtrack a lot is because you can tell what feelings are  going to be  convey in Antoine's expression  when it comes to him being in trouble as well, which is great way to tell the audience what could possibly happen next. If the soundtrack didn't give the foreshadowing clues that did throughout the movie, it would of been ten times harder to connect with this film in general.

If you haven't seen a Francois Truffaut film like I did before this month, The 400 Blows is a sure bet on something that a good amount of film buffs could enjoy easily since it is his most relatable film out based on the plot, acting, and soundtrack , while giving you a once in a life time feeling when it comes to seeing the major potential filmmaker directing a masterpiece on his first time directing a film.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015

2015 Blindspot Challenge Update: Changing Films for the challenge

Since a good amount of the films I have planned for my Blindspot challenge disappeared from a fried TV DVR during Super Bowl week, I pretty much have to start again except for Chinatown and The 400 Blows (the film I need to review soon) since I have seen them. Also, I will organize the months watching the Blindspot films as well this time, so I will know when I am watching a particular movie that I have assigned myself.  I personally hope that you enjoy the list. Personally, I can't wait to start reviewing The 400 Blows after I have completed this list of films that I have mainly on DVD this time except for the Three Colors Trilogy directed by Krzysztof Kieślowski and A Christmas Story, which will be easily found on television during December.
  •  

January 2015: Chinatown
February 2015: The 400 Blows
March 2015: Three Colors: Blue
April 2015: Three Colors: White 
May 2015: Three Colors: Red
June 2015: Harvey
July 2015: Touch of Evil
August 2015: Roman Holiday
September 2015: 2001: A Space Odyssey
October 2015: The Shining
November 2015: Sabrina
December 2015: A Christmas Story

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Top 25 Best/Memorable Film Experiences I've had during 2014: #20-16

Well, welcome to the part 2 of this list and if you haven't seen the first part of the list, you are in for a treat and if you want to see the list please click here. Now, I will start Part 2 of this list and they consist films in this particular list are iconic movies that everyone should see at least one time in my opinion. Also, if you are wondering what other hints, I can give to you, I will tell you that I will not give you any other hints and now it is time to start part 2 of this list.

16. Predator (1987 film from John McTiernan)

Predator is one of those movies that is so timeless when it comes to the various action movies that were made in 1980's. First, this is a really smart action movie that actually makes you think and during the 1980's there were a lot of fun actions movies, but they didn't provide the same feel that has made Predator a must see when it comes to action films. Second, I love how the film takes its time to show the monster itself instead of showing you it like in the first few minutes because it makes it such as suspenseful movie. Finally, this pace of how this film is worked brilliantly since there is never a dull moment in the movie, which I find very impressive since it is very hard for me to watch a film that entertains me this much like Predator itself.

17.Night of the Living Dead (1968 film from George A. Romero)

Night of the Living Dead is one of the most influential  horror movies of all time, but there are reasons why this film has made it to the place that it was in. First, the setting  and complexes of the society that the story was quite creative at the time when it came, but you have know your American history in the 1960's to appreciate what is going on in the film even more.  Second, the zombies in this movie are complete brutal in this movie and they are going to get what they desire for. Third, I love the fact that the film mainly relies on telling the stories of characters instead of relying on creepy zombies on the creepy movie. Finally, pop culture wouldn't be the same if George A. Romero if he did make zombies this menacing, so I am entirely thankful that he has created this movie during this time period.  

18. Sunset Boulevard (1950 film from Billy Wilder)

Sunset Boulevard is a easily one of the most creative film noirs out there when it comes to great storytelling and there are many reasons why I think this film was one of the best experiences I had when it came to the year of 2014. First, the way they combined Hollywood history when it comes to silent films and how films were made in a modernized way by telling us a story about a former silent star actress is clever. Second, there is so much surprises and secrets in this film that really impacted the movie and it made the characterization of this film more complex than it seems. Third, the quotes are in this film are just genius and there is no way that the screenplay wouldn't be as clever if it was made in 2015. Finally, the part in the film when  the person who sings Sunset Boulevard really sets the mood of the story and that's is easily one of the best iconic moments in film that I haven't seen in a long time.


19. The Lego Movie (2014 film from Phil Lord and Christopher Miller)

The Lego Movie was one of the most unique animation film that I have seen in a while and here is why this film is on this list. First, the humor of the film is so witty that it works perfectly for everyone no matter how old a person is. Second, the ending is like really creative and I didn't expect this coming at all, but I will not spoil how awesome the ending is. Third, the world building is so much fun and it literally represents the vibe that the place had before it got destroyed brick by brick (no pun intended you guys). Finally, the theme song is really catchy and it is really fun to sing to whenever you are in a negative mood.  

20. Dead Poets Society (1989 film from Peter Weir)

Dead Poets Society is one of the most inspirational and sadder  films that has been in my list so far and there are reasons why this film cracked the top twenty over the other films that provided a similar feeling to this feel except for the plot and setting. First, Robin Williams is the main reason why this is just that successful when it comes to being a modern classic that everyone has to see. Second, the ordeals that the characters are going through are really relatable and I am pretty certain that everyone who has or is currently a teenager have gone through something similar to what the character do in this movie. Finally, the bond that the students had with Mr. Keating (Robin Williams) is just a incredible thing to see and I wish that they were more teachers like Mr. Keating because they know how to make the subject they know a lot more less  tedious for students, while making the students feel like they can be themselves instead of being  serious student mode.

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Top 25 Best/Most Memorable Film Experiences I've had during 2014: #25-21

Since I don't watch a lot of movies on the particular year that they were made, I thought it would be a fun idea to make this countdown a little bit different than your typical end of the year of 2014 countdown, since I have discovered many movies that were not released 2014 and the lists consists of the film experinces I had watching from #25 to #1. Also, I hope you guys enjoyed this list as much as I enjoy figuring out which film should belong in what order in my opinion of course.

21. Coffy (1973 film from Jack Hill)

Coffy was just an unexpected surprise for me since I thought that this was going to be more like a revenge flick from what the summary of the plot suggests, but there is more to Blaxploitation film that what I have expected and Coffy just proved that to me easily just watching my first one this year. First, Pam Grier in this movie literally kick butt in this movie and I love how determined she is to do whatever she thinks is right despite what anyone says even thought there was a major chance that she could of been arrested from the many ways that she broke the law. Second, the action sequences on this film are instantly memorable, especially the salad  action sequence of this film, but if you haven't seen this film I will not explain to you what I mean with the salad sequence of this movie. Finally, the soundtrack of the movie gives you the feeling that you are literally in Coffy (Pam Grier) world when it comes to all of the things she had to do in this movie and that's why this film made the experience of the movie even more enjoyable to me.

22.  Titanic (1997 film from James Cameron)

Watching romantic movies like Titanic are rare to come by these days when it comes to the big grand epic tale romance movies, so I enjoy savoring these film up when I watch for the first time because they can provide some of the best experiences I  can have when I have since seen over eighty films on 2014 alone and this one does a great job with that. First, I love how strong the chemistry between Rose (Kate Winslet) and Jack (Leonardo Di Caprio) is throughout the whole movie and there were literally times where I was about to cry from how realistic the chemistry was when it comes to being stuck in the Titanic. Second, the ending was masterfully done and that ending will stick out in my mind whenever I think of this movie. Finally, the choice of putting Celion Dion's My Heart Will Go On in the background during some of the most romantic parts of the movies was a very smart decision on whoever did that idea in the first place because it is easily one of most well known songs from movie soundtracks of all time.

23. Sixteen Candles (1984 film from John Hughes)

Watching regular teenage coming of age stories that can relate to both adults who used to be teenagers and the people who are stuck in the teenager years right now can be an tricky thing to accomplish, but any John Hughes film that relates to the teenager coming of age stories provides a delicate amount of teenage drama and comedy that makes them timeless classics for everyone and that's what Sixteen Candles accomplishes when I saw this for the first time in 2014. First, the comedy scenes are really funny and even there is a famous quote from this movie that is easily recognizable if you love learning about movie quotes in general. Second, there so many scenes in this movie that blew my mind when it came to how crazy the plot was,  but that is part of the charm of this movie is the fun surprises that you get throughout the movie.  Finally, the ending was easily the best part of the whole movie and I wouldn't mind having a birthday like Sam (Molly Ringworld) when it comes to having that memorable romantic gesture during the end, but I am not going to tell the ending at all since there are other people who should discover the wonderful ending of this movie.

24. Moonrise Kingdom (2012 film from Wes Anderson)

Whenever I see a Wes Anderson movie, I know that I am going to have a good time watching a movie of his and Moonrise Kingdom is easily one of the quirkiest films I have seen of  Wes Anderson besides Mr. Fantastic Fox, which is the only other movie I have seen of his besides this film and there are many good reasons for that. First, the feeling of a Wes Anderson film is so different than your average film director because his sense of style realizes on him doing quirky, but relatable movies  in a way that is completely his own and I haven't seen any doing anything similar to Wes Anderson as a film fan. Second, the actors that are provided in this film fits his own auteur style when it comes to films brilliantly and it makes this film stand even more from the rest of the pack when it comes to movies like this. Finally, the plot of the two people falling in love not as teenagers is something I haven't seen a lot in films, so I always find it intruging when someone does something like this.

25. Plan 9 from Outer Space (1959 film from Ed Wood)

This film is one of the oddest films that I have seen in the science fiction B Flick genre of films, but the way that Ed Wood does it is so unusual to the point where I see why this film has a massive cult following when it comes to "its so good, but it's so bad" films of the 20th century. First, the plot is like coco for bananas because it makes no damn sense at all, but at the same time I am like literally engrossed on what going on. Second, the narration of the film is like the worst thing I have ever seen in my life, but without Criswell campniess as the narrator this film would be wouldn't have the same impact as it did today. Finally, this film has so much weird twist for zombies that make no sense whatsoever, but the creativity  of twists are like golden when it comes to movies like this.

Saturday, January 10, 2015

January 2015 Blindspot Challenge Review: Chinatown

Watching a neo noir for the first time is quite interesting since it involves a good amount of things that were in film noir, while provided modern substances in it. Also,  Roman Polanski's Chinatown was a good start for me when it comes to this sub genre because it still relied on the old noir ways, while provided an intriguing story that delivers when it comes to the mystery of the characters background while providing me with a modernized feel when it comes to everything that was part of the movie.

First, the plot of the story was pretty modernized, which surprised me a lot since I pretty much not knew what I was going on story wise for the most part except for  the main summary that the TV provided me which basically told me that  J.J.  "Jake" Gittes (Jack Nicholson) was stuck in a messy water conflict on in the Los Angeles area, which intrigued me a lot since a lot of film noir films back in the day didn't use a water conflict as part of the plot at all. Another thing that I really like about the plot is the layers of how dark the water conflict was and how much secrets are provided throughout the whole entire film when it comes to this one main particular event besides the dark secrets that both of the main characters do have. Finally, the subtle foreshadowing that this film provides is so creative to me when it comes to telling who the main person who started this was very creative since everyone in this film is pretty much dangerous for the most part and the only way I figure out who the killer was mainly based off my cinematic knowledge of a particular actor, but I won't mention who it is since it will spoil the fun of watching the movie if a person hasn't seen this film before.

Second, the acting that Faye Dunaway and Jack Nicholson provided in this film just made me feel in awe about how good there performances are.  One example of how good both of them are in the film is the chemistry between both of the characters is so realistic for people who haven't met each other at all until horrific circumstances has gotten them to together even thought one of them was a husband  to someone well know in the community , while one of them is a typical newspaper reporter who is trying to find the scoop in the town.  Another example of how amazing both of their acting is in this movie is whenever they are not together they both excel to giving it their all and I will give you examples on both of them in this movie.  When it comes to Faye Dunaway, she literally nails the female fatale role and I feel like she knows her character so well when it comes to composing a image on her that is not all what it seems.  Also, when it comes Jack Nicholson, he literally makes you feel like you know him when it comes to motives, while providing a modern spin to leading man in the film noir on this film. Personally, there is so much to say about those two acting skills in the movie and watching both of them act together is one of the reasons why this film is a masterpiece to me besides the plot of the story.

Finally, the cinematography and the way Roman Polanski uses the camera during this film were quite creative and it made the film even more interesting to watch. First, the cinematograph literally reflects the whole tone of the movie, which I found very interesting. Second, I love the little camera work references that Polanski did with when it came to honoring Hitchcock with the various movies that he does that feature that iconic shot that Hitchcock has done in Rope, Rear Window, and other movies that he done before he has died. Finally, I found that the camera angles that he used to be quite creative when it comes to framing the shot and he used them brilliantly when it comes to conveying a mood as well.

If you haven't seen a neo noir film, this film has got it all when it comes to creating a familiar vibe that film noir fans love except its more modernization, while providing a great mystery along with brilliant camerawork and acting that has made this movie a neo-noir masterpiece in my mind.

Sunday, January 4, 2015

2015 Blindspot Challenge: The Year I actually Started Seeing What This Challenge is About By Doing It.

Since a lot of people in the film blogosphere is doing this, I thought it would be a good time to experience this for the first time. If you haven't heard of the of the Blindspot Challenge, I will explain it to you and the what the rules in a very simplistic manner. The  challenge was a idea started by Ryan McNeil's and the rules are  that you  have watch twelve films that you haven't' seen at all and you must review them all of you decided to this event like me. Now, I will list the movies I will do for this year Blind Spot challenge based on things I have on DVD, thing I have recorded, or movies where I easily find on Youtube since I sometimes watching movies there.

1. Chinatown (1974, Roman Polanski ^
2. Touch of Evil (1958, Orson Welles) :)
3.Alien (1979, Ridley Scott) ^
4.The Shining (1980, Stanley Kubrick:)
5.2001: A Space Odyssey (1968, Stanley Kubrick) :)
6. The 400 Blows (1959, Francios Truffaut) :)
7.White Christmas (1954,Michael Curtiz) ^
8.Take Shelter (2011, Jeff Nichols) ^
9. She Wore a Yellow Ribbon (1949, John Ford)^
10. Three Colors Trilogy (1993-1994, Krzysztof Kieslowski) *
11.Harvey (1950, Henry Koster) :)
12. Metropolis (1927, Fritz Lang) ^

* means that I will do separate reviews for each movie during that particular month instead of one whole movies review just like the other will be for the whole entire year except Three Colors Trilogy.  Also, this means that I found these particular films on Youtube as well.

^ means that I recorded these films on the DVR, so I can watch them on TV instead of getting them on DVD which could be hard to find at the local stores.

(: means that I have these films on DVD, so I don't have to worry about recording the film or finding them on Youtube, which makes me really happy since it is really hard to find movies I want to see on TV or on Youtue.